{Red’s Diner – Part III}

Ahh.. to all of you familiar with my blog. You know my favourite breakfast place as of late is Red’s Diner. I’ve already mentioned it a couple times on my blog, but it’s just SO good. I really encourage all you brunch people out there to try this place out if you haven’t already.

I LOVE breakfast. I remember during my long training runs for the Scotiabank marathon this past May, I would find myself  dreaming of plates of fluffy pancakes and crispy waffles..drool…

Anyways, onto the food.

Me and the girls from work met up on Sunday to enjoy a lovely breakie at Red’s. It was pretty packed even by 9:30am, but the wait was only 20 min, a great excuse to bask in the sun on the steps. After we were seated, I found myself incredibly indecisive. I was tempted to order my usual vegan tofu scramble and side of pancakes, but I dove in and ordered up the granola waffles w/ a side of whipped butter and fruit compote.

It tasted as good as it looked. Crispy crust and fluffy and delicate inside, the crunchy toasted granola paired beautifully with the waffles. I had the first two smeared with whipped butter and fruit compote and the last with some smooth peanut butter…Mmm.. cleaned my plate and finished off a side of their addictive signature potatoes w/ scallions. I love that their potatoes aren’t soggy and greasy like a lot of other breakfast places.

My lovely dining dates had the following: the classic egg wrap with ham, cheddar and green onions.

and the Pacific farmhouse benedict with poached salmon, red onions and capers.

A perfectly medium poached egg atop filets of moist flaky salmon Both the ladies enjoyed their breakies.

Another bonus. The prices are decent too. Our usual breakfast spot on Stephen Ave serves salmon eggs bennie for 16 bucks! This one is under $10! Craziness.

Overall..once again. Two thumbs up for another satisfying breakfast 🙂


Red's Diner on Urbanspoon

Comments
2 Responses to “{Red’s Diner – Part III}”
  1. Tatiana says:

    Those eggs benny look great to me since I don’t have enough of a sweet tooth to order pancakes or waffles. So I try and eat with people who do, and sample theirs.

  2. Yes, they have a great menu, I recommend the homemade perogies with kielbasa there, so delicious!

Leave a Reply

