{Inspired by Sunterra: Black pepper linguine & lemon white chocolate coconut scones}

After the gym tonight I had food on the mind..and how awesome is it that I walk past this Sunterra at Keynote on my way home.. The good news is its super convenient. The bad news is its super convenient.. which means bad news for my wallet (I’ve been in there everyday this week).

I was quite impressed with this store, it’s very spacious and they have a lot more product than the other Sunterra’s in Calgary. They have a huge deli, salad bar, made-to-order pasta bar, antipasto bar, Market bar cafe (with a gelato bar), huge outdoor patio and grill and a wine bar restaurant (with 1,400 wine wall) on the mezzanine level. They also have a room on the upper floor called the community table to accomodate private functions for up to 40 people and they offer lunch ‘n’ learns and edible education cooking classes taught by a Red Seal chef for about $50 a person. The bakery section is nice and open so you can see what kind of delicious pastries they are making. If you’re lucky enough to live here, they will deliver groceries up to your condo with a simple phone call.

Today the whole store was filled with the scent of fresh-baked buttery pastries.. Mmm.. definitely made my experience in here a lot nicer. A couple of sections you’ll definitely find me mulling about in..

The chocolate section..

and the tea section.. I wish I had a door in my house that opened up to this..

I walked around looking for inspiration and picked up a few things to make dinner and dessert. On tonight’s menu: Fresh black pepper linguine with a sweet corn, spinach and pesto cream sauce.

I first sautéed a couple mushrooms, one roma tomatoe and a cube of my garlic scape pesto in a bit of extra virgin olive oil.

Next add in some fresh corn cut off the cob, a handful of spinach, one tablespoon of red pepper hummus and a few tablespoons of cream. Season with salt and pepper and simmer on low heat.

Then I boiled up a pot of water and added my fresh black pepper linguine I picked up at Sunterra.

After a couple of minutes, drain the pasta and add to the sauce and serve with a sprinkling of parmesan cheese. Bon Apetit. (Sorry, forgot to take a pic of the final product.. we were SO hungry).

For dessert, how about some Mini cream scones with candied lemon peel and white chocolate chunks. (adapted from a Cooks Illustrated recipe)

2 cups of organic whole wheat pastry flour (or all-purpose flour)
1 tbsp aluminum free baking powder
4 tbsp organic cane sugar
1/2 tsp salt
4 Tbsp cold unsalted butter, cut into cubes
3/4 cup heavy cream
1 egg slightly beaten
1 tsp of vanilla
3 tbsp of candied lemon peel (sub in your favourite ingredients)
1/3 c white chocolate chunks ( I used 3/4 of a white chocolate nougat toblerone bar)
2 tbsp of sugar for sprinkling on top
2 tbsp of unsweetened shredded coconut

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place the flour, sugar, salt, baking powder, and butter into a bowl. Mix together using a pastry blender or your fingers until the mixture resembles course meal. Transfer everything to a large bowl. Stir in heavy cream, egg, and vanilla mixing the dough by hand until it forms into an uniformed and slightly moistened dough. Add in your chopped lemon peel and chocolate. Roll dough onto a floured surface, grab enough dough to fit into your hand about the size of a baseball and gently roll it in a ball.

Flatten the ball and until your disk is approx. 3/4″ in height. Press down the outside of the dough circle so the center is slightly taller. Cut each circle in quarters. You should have enough dough to make 4 circles and 16 scones. Brush the tops with cream and sprinkle sugar and coconut on tops. Bake on an ungreased cookie sheet, or line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Bake for 15 minutes until the bottoms are golden brown. Remove scones from baking sheet and cool on a wire rack.

Mmm… serve with creme fraiche and your favourite preserve or on their own.


I’ll be bringing this batch to work tomorrow to my coworkers (One of whom has been asking me why I haven’t brought any of my baking into work lately, this is for you.)

I’ll leave you with a pick of little Jasper..patiently sitting next to me as I sit at my computer blogging.


Comments
6 Responses to “{Inspired by Sunterra: Black pepper linguine & lemon white chocolate coconut scones}”
  1. foodtable says:

    Hi there. I had a quick look around your blog and really like it. It’s beautiful. Do you mind if I blogroll you? Also, I am going to be in Montreal/Quebec sometime this year, read your post on it, looking forward to trying a lot of the restaurants there…

  2. eatrundesign says:

    Absolutely, I’m glad you enjoy the blog. Yes, Montreal and Quebec are so awesome, I especially loved Quebec city, it really feels like you’re in Europe somewhere.

  3. Samantha says:

    Hi Jen,

    Great blog post! 🙂

    I work in the Sunterra Marketing department and am hoping to get your permission to use your photo (IMG_3107, the first in this post of the outside of Keynote) in our September 2015 newsletter?

    Thanks in advance,
    Samantha

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...


Leave a Reply

