{Dining in: Thick and hearty vegetarian confetti chili}

After the gym tonight, I had one thing on my mind. Chili. A hearty vegetarian confetti chili to be exact. I know, weird to be craving something like this in the summertime. But I thought it would be the perfect dish to compliment those yummy corn muffins I made last night. Also I knew the boy would enjoy this (any excuse to use that Alberta Crude he loves so much).

Started off with a bowl full of delicious vegetables of course (My mix included a carrot, zucchini, cob of corn, mushrooms, tomatoe, red pepper and a pattipan squash).

Chop up the veggies into small cubes to resemble, well, confetti 🙂 Cook up a few cloves of chopped garlic in olive oil, then add your veg.

After a few minutes and the veg have softened, add one can of whole canned tomatoes (LOVE squishing each tomatoe and crushing them in my hands), a can of tomatoe paste and a can of mixed beans (mine is Scarpone’s Bean Medley). Add some seasonings (pepper, salt, rosemary, basil, oregano, chili powder, sriracha, worcestshire).

To add some more protein and “meatiness” I added a crushed millet burger I picked up at Community foods (made of sunflower seeds, millet, dill pickle, oats, spinich).

Simmer on med low heat for about 45 min to an hour (or until the hungry boy arrives home from baseball). Top with a few shavings of parmesan cheese and pepper. I like my chili mild..the boy had his with about 7 drops of his beloved hot sauce.

Mmm.. hearty, thick and packed full of chunky veggies. Craving satisfied 😀

For dessert, I dug into my chocolate box (yes, I have a box filled with random chocolate bars, truffles, etc..) and had a few squares of this with some tea. Silky smooth chocolate w/ bergamont

Leave a Reply

