{Dining in: Huevos Rancheros brunch and Monday night feast at moms}

I’m not usually one to go to the mall theatres to watch movies (I always end up next to the guy who falls asleep snoring, in front of someone who kicks my seat or seated by the person with the uncontrollable cough..ick). But we had to make an exception for Inception to see all the special effects everyone is raving about. So last night, we got to the theatre an hour early to get good seats and they had to cancel the show because they couldn’t get the projector to work!! Gah! To make amends we were given free movie passes and a refund. So today we tried again, this time for a matinée. I didn’t want to have to eat mall food so I whipped up a quick brunch so we could catch the 1pm show. I looked into the fridge for some inspiration. We had some leftover veg chili and a carton of eggs.. Solution: Quick and easy Huevos Rancheros ala Jen.

Recipe for two (inspired by Anna Olsen’s recipe here)

  • 2 whole wheat tortillas (I used the smaller ones)
  • 1 cup of leftover chili (or follow recipe link above)
  • 2 organic eggs
  • freshly grated parmesan cheese

1. Pre-heat the oven to 400F. Place each tortilla into two oven safe bowls and fill each with 1/2 cup of chili, make a small well and crack one egg into each. Bake in the oven for 15 min (I broiled mine a bit at the end to cook the egg to a soft poach). Finish off with a grating of parmesan cheese and pepper. We had ours with a side of fresh taber corn on the cob. Gotta enjoy them before the season is over.

Later tonight, went over to mom’s for dinner which typically is a 3-4 course feast. Everything I know about food I learned from my mom who is my biggest cooking inspiration.

We started off with a mixed green salad with super sweet cherry tomatoes, shaved parmesan, thin slices of smoked salmon draped on top and a sprinkling of capers and fresh pepper. She dressed the salad with a couple spoonfuls of the juices from her cooked beets and fruity extra virgin olive oil. YUM! This is one of my favourite salads she makes.

Shortly after, mom was back in the kitchen working away. In one pot, a jewel-toned lentil and barley pilaf. Composed of 3 varieties of lentils, pearl barley, chopped onion topped with a handful of herbs from her garden including sage, thyme and parsley. This was SOO beautifully fragrant when I opened the lid. Loved the mix of crunchy and soft lentils and the chewy and tender barley, I was lucky I got to take home leftovers, I can’t wait to serve this atop of my salad for lunch tomorrow.

Beets from the Kingland Farmers Market. Super sweet and tender. Cooked with thinly sliced onions, fresh rosemary and garlic and a pat of butter. Perfection.

Mom made this awesome homemade BBQ sauce too.. for what you ask..

A sauce for a couple racks of ribs of course! Onto the Bar-B they go..

Along with some huge portobellos that had been marinating in olive oil, balsamic and a mix of fresh herbs

All together now.. with another sweet and juicy cob of corn. I cleaned this plate up and felt like I needed to be wheel barreled out of the house. So worth it though, another amazing dinner and a very happy belly, Thanks mom 🙂


Leave a Reply

