{My first pie making experience – fresh blueberry mini pies}

I’ve always been intimidated about making pie, but last today I got over that fear and decided to go for it. On the menu tonight Blueberry pie. The pie pastry seems easy enough. Flour, sugar, salt, butter and ice water all in a pile on the counter..

The key is to handle the dough as little as possible to create the most tender and flaky crust.

I learned this trick from joy the baker, sprinkling crushed ginger snaps (or graham cracker or bread crumbs) at the bottom of the unbaked crust to absorb the berry juices a bit so the bottom doesn’t get soggy.

I put mine in a plastic bag and rolled over them a few times with my rolling pin, Ta-dah! Ginger snap crumbs.

Next onto the berry filling with lots of lemon zest..yum.. such a lovely smell…

Into the pie it goes and sealed with a top crust with vents cut out on top..

Some egg wash and turbinado sugar to sprinkle the top of the crust. Look at my cute little branch spoon.

30 minutes later the house smells like a pie shop and out comes these cute little mini pies.

I made some with a lattice top too 🙂

Shall I eat one.. maybe three…they are mini right? Perfect with a scoop of vanilla frozen yogurt..

Verdict? Pretty good for my first time, I think to achieve a better crust I will try to sub some of the butter for shortening, which I’ve read helps make it a flakier crust. The filling was amazing, makes such a difference when you use fresh berries, rather than frozen ones.


Recipe inspired by Joy of Baking and Simply Recipes

Short Crust Pastry:

2 1/2 cups (350 grams) all-purpose flour

1 tsp salt

2 tbsp (30 grams) granulated white sugar

1 cup (226 grams) unsalted butter, chilled, and cut into 1 inch (2.54 cm) pieces

1/4 to 1/2 cup (60 – 120 ml) ice water

Blueberry Filling: (This makes only half the filling, since I froze the other half of the pie pastry – so double if using it all)

2 cups (570 grams) fresh blueberries

1/4 cup (100 grams) granulated white sugar

1 tbsp (20 grams) flour

1 tbsp lemon juice

1 tbsp lemon zest

Egg Wash:

1 large egg lightly whisked

1. Prepare the crust. Roll out half of the dough to 1/8-inch-thick circle on a lightly floured work surface, about 13 inches in diameter. Place tartlet pan upside down on dough and trim the edges to a 1/2 inch over the edge all around the pan. Put into the refrigerator to chill for about 30 minutes.

2. Gently mix the blueberries, sugar, flour, cinnamon, lemon zest, and lemon juice in a large bowl. Sprinkle ginger snap crumbs at the bottom of each pie crust. Fill each pie with berry filling. Roll out remaining dough and cut out lattice strips and place on top of the berry filling. Tuck the strips over and under the edge of the bottom dough, and crimp the edges with your fingers. Transfer the pie to the refrigerator to chill until the dough is firm, about 30 minutes. Heat oven to 400°F.

4 Remove the unbaked pies from refrigerator. Brush the top with egg wash. Place the pies on a baking sheet on the middle rack of the oven with a parchment paper or Silpat lined baking pan positioned on the lower rack to catch any filling that may bubble over. Bake for 15 minutes at 400°. Reduce heat to 350°F and bake for 15 minutes more or until juices are bubbling and have thickened. Transfer to a wire rack to cool. Let cool completely before serving them with a scoop of ice cream or vanilla frozen yogurt. Makes 8 servings (for half of pie dough, I froze the other half).

Comments
4 Responses to “{My first pie making experience – fresh blueberry mini pies}”
  1. foodtable says:

    Ooohh..that lattice top one looks delish! I don’t why I like that one better eventhough I know it’s the same pie.

  2. Anthony says:

    Hi there. Those look amazing! We had very similar mini pie at my wedding this year.

    Can I ask where you found the spoon? I am looking for exactly that to match a cheese knife set I got at West Elm. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

