{My 100th post! Portobello melt sandwich w/ thumbalina carrots and mini apple tarts}

I was nibbling random things here and there all last night, so I wasn’t in the mood to prepare a proper dinner for myself. I knew the boy would be hungry after his baseball game so I made him a quick sandwich. One of mom’ s leftover marinated portobello caps with a chunk of buffalo mozzarella cheese melted in the oven atop some muesli bread from the Sunterra bakery. On the other half a scrambled egg, juicy cherry tomatoes and mixed greens.

Put them together.. now that’s one good lookin’ sandwich. Served with a side of lightly dressed thumbalina carrots (in olive oil, salt and pepper), short and stubby but super sweet and crunchy.

To celebrate my 100th post, I’m making one of my favourite desserts. Apple tart.. mini of course, cause they’re so much more fun to eat. I bought these non stick tartlet pans for William Sonoma a couple days ago so I’ve been super eager to use them. Using a quarter of the pastry dough I made last night that I had in the fridge to make 3 tartlets. I sliced up one gala apple super thin, sprinkled sugar and cinnamon to coat the slices (you can add lemon juice to prevent them from browning too, but I was baking these tarts right away, so I skipped it). Starting from the outside, overlap the slices to they form a rose shape. Dot them with a few bits of butter. (Why do you think those pastries taste so good in the store, BUTTER of course!) It will also help the apples cook and prevent them from drying out.

Baked in the oven at 375F for 30 min. A bit lower than the tarts I baked yesterday at 400F to see if I’d get a more tender crust. Success! These turned out great! The apples were soft and the crust was crispy on the outside and puffy on the inside. Topped with a pinch of slivered almonds.

To make it extra special, I added a scoop of vanilla fro yo and drizzle of dulce de leche and cinnamon. Perfect dessert to share with the boy. I’d say this is a pretty good re-creation of my beloved apple puff pastry tart at Joey Tomatoes.. it’s maybe even a bit better. Happy 100th 🙂

Leave a Reply

