{Fitness Fridays: My pre and post-workout foods and my new favourite spread}

So I’ve been thinking, as much as decadant desserts and cooking is an integral part of my life, working out is a another one of my passions. So I’ve decided that every Friday I will post something related to fitness whether it be foods I use to fuel, fitness tips, things I’ve learned from running, etc..

To start off my first fitness post, I’ll go over what I typically eat before and after a workout.

So everyone has their stand-by pre-run/workout breakfast, you gotta test the waters and find out what your stomach can handle. Some people need to eat at least an hour before they workout, while I typically eat mine enroute to the gym or about 10-15 minutes before a run. My tried and true meal: a slice of my favourite bread (the cranberry pecan of alpine muesli from the Rustic Sourdough Bakery) with about a tablespoon of raw almond butter (I usually get the MaraNatha brand – available at Superstore or health food stores) and a smear of apricot jam or lately it’s been this.. Bonne Maman’s chestnut spread or tartinade de chataignes. Thick and smooth and a nutty sweetness. It gives me that extra something to look forward to in morning, especially on those Sundays when it’s hard for me to get out of bed at 8am for a run.

Note: Your pre-workout meal should be a 3 to 1 ratio of carbs and protein (with a little fat).

During my workouts longer than an hour, I’ll make sure to eat something that has high glycemic carbs for quick accessible fuel.

My snack of choice:

Lara bars – I LOVE the peanut butter jelly, but for workouts the key lime pie is a bit more refreshing. I usually break these up in thirds and eat a piece every 30-60 minutes. These bars are gluten-free and have a really short ingredient list.

Another quick and portable snack. Medjool dates filled with almond butter. I wrap these individually in plastic wrap, it’s small enough to put into your pocket or pin them to your shorts. I prefer these over the commercial gels and candies since it’s much more natural. The medjool dates taste just like caramel which pairs perfectly with the creaminess of the nut butter. I also make sure to fill my bottle up with 1/2 coconut water and 1/2 water to hydrate.

Image Source

What about after the workout is done? It’s important to get some protein into your meal to help you recover quicker. There is about an hour window after your workout when it is most beneficial to your body to get fuel in to repair your muscles. I like a nice quinoa salad which can be made anyway you like it, here are a couple recipes I like:

Balsamic grilled summer vegetable with basil quinoa salad

Warm and nutty cinnamon quinoa

Another meal I like to indulge in after those particularly long runs is those Red’s Diner buttermilk buckwheat pancakes. I like to mix peanut butter with a touch of maple syrup and smear them lightly over the pancakes then eat each bite with a side of thick and creamy yogurt with granola. Probably not the HEALTHIEST meal ever, but it includes the carbs and protein I need and its a nice reward for a hard workout.

And of course another serving of coconut water to restore all those electrolytes lost.

Finally, every night I have a ritual of enjoying a big cup of ginger tea – known for it’s anti-inflammatory properties and ability to reduce muscle soreness next day. I keep chunks of it in the freezer and grate it with my rasp into a cup. Easy and simple. It also helps settle your stomach, say if you ate too many desserts 🙂 If the flavour is too strong and spicy, you can mellow it with a drizzle of honey and lemon too.




Comments
8 Responses to “{Fitness Fridays: My pre and post-workout foods and my new favourite spread}”
  1. Vincci says:

    Great tips for some natural workout foods! I might save these for my clients 😉

  2. foodtable says:

    oh, keep your fitness friday postings coming. love it!

  3. Janice says:

    I love your fitness posts! Super inspiring and phenomenal tips. Where do you find coconut water in Calgary?

    • eatrundesign says:

      you can find them at both community natural foods locations, by their juice and beverage section on the shelf. They carry vita coco, zico brand and o.n.e. brand, i usually get the cheaper of the three, whichever is on sale. note the flavoured coconut waters are quite sweet, i get the plain. I’ve also seen them at Sunterra keynote in the fridge section.

      Note, they have coconut water at superstore in the asian section which is cheap, not sure if its good, i personally don’t like the taste, plus they have preservatives in them i’d rather not have in my drink.

Leave a Reply

