{Middle Eastern inspired dinner: Healthy falafel balls and babaganoush spread}

Last night we attended our first wedding of the year (always exciting, I LOVE weddings). It was a middle eastern wedding, although I was a bit bummed there wasn’t any middle eastern food served. So tonight I decided to satisfy my craving with couple middle eastern inspired dishes. First up, falafel balls.

Rinse a 15 oz can of chickpeas in cold water in a colander then give them a whirl in the food processor with 1 T of olive oil till it forms a paste but still a bit chunky.

Scrape the ingredients into a bowl and add 1/2 onion (chopped and cooked till caramelized), then add your seasonings. Salt, pepper, juice and zest of one lemon a dash of tabasco to taste. As well as a tablespoon of this “magic curry powder” by Sultana Ali, a company out of Edmonton that has bottled their secret Masala recipe that has been in the Ali family for centuries. Bold and fragrant, so lovely.

Add an egg and 1/2 cup of breadcrumbs and blend until it comes together so you can form little balls..

Another great use for my cookie dough scoop, perfect little falafel balls all ready to go into a 425F oven to be baked for about 20 min till they are golden brown and crispy on the outside.

Mmm.. perfect in a pita with some tzatziki or atop a salad..

Next is one of my favourite ways to have eggplant, babaganoush. Slice up an eggplant lengthwise into about 1/2 inch slices and drizzle with olive oil, salt and pepper. Bake in the oven at 425 for about 10 minutes then broil them on high on the middle rack till they’re nice and charred.

Scoop the flesh with a spoon to remove the skins and blend in the food processor with the juice of one lemon + zest, 2 T of tahini and a clove of garlic. Sprinkle with some fresh cut parsley (I didn’t have any, but it would add a nice earthy freshness).

For dinner, I chopped up a roma tomato in chunks topped with a few tablespoons of babaganoush and 2 falafel balls and a drizzle of balsamic crema. Served with a side of corn (finally finished the last few in the fridge) and some crispy baked salt and vinegar potato slices (if you like s&v chips, you have to make this). Perfectly satisfying Sunday dinner..

For dessert, a couple halves of those incredibly addictive Bliss and Co cupcakes in chocolate mint and strawberry vanilla.. I love these out of the freezer warmed in the microwave for 10 sec…



Comments
5 Responses to “{Middle Eastern inspired dinner: Healthy falafel balls and babaganoush spread}”
  1. Ok I made your healthy falafel balls for dinner tonight, adjusting the ingredients a bit to what was in my cabinet. They were insanely delicious! I love them! Thank you for sharing your recipe!

  2. mike says:

    Hello I live in Seattle. Can you please tell me where I an get the Magic curry powder?

    • The curry powder I got from a local specialty food store. I tried looking up this curry company and they’re out of Edmonton but I could not find a website or other places they carry the product 😦 Sorry!

      I’m sure you could sub in a curry blend of your choice for this recipe as well.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...


Leave a Reply

