{Baking for coworkers: Raspberry almond white chocolate zucchini muffins}

On my way home from the gym, I picked up this huge beauty that was calling my name..papaya ALWAYS reminds me of my trips to Hawaii. This was sweet, juicy and fragrant. Dinner was nothing exciting, the boy is still away for work, so after inhaling this huge monster, I did the ol’ grazing and eating random things from the cupboards and fridge thing.

It’s been a pretty busy week at work, so I thought I’d make some goodies to share. I had no idea what I wanted to bake, so I wandered around aimlessly at Sunterra and picked up whatever popped out at me. I came home with a pint of fresh plump raspberries.. I looked into my fridge and found a container of almond meal, and one lonely zucchini.. Solution: Raspberry almond white chocolate zucchini muffins.

Start with your dry ingredients: flour, almond meal (pulvarized almonds), baking powder, salt and a dash of cinnamon..

In another bowl, combine your eggs, sugar, splash of vanillaalmond extract and a few glugs of olive oil. Mix together with a wooden spoon, the vibrant yellow color and consistency reminds me of lemon curd.. mmm…

Add the dry to the wet ingredients. Grate your zucchini and put the mound in between some paper towels and squeeze out the excess liquid. Gorgeous tendrils flecked with shades of bright green.

Next, chop up your chocolate. I happened to have a few squares of white chocolate in my trusty ol’ chocolate box..

Add your fresh raspberries and stir till it’s just combined, do NOT overmix please. Scoop into your muffin cups, I love these unbleached ones I got from The Cookbook Co. Cooks, the muffin comes away from them so cleanly. No sticking here. I then sprinkled the tops with a pinch of slivered almonds.

25 minutes in the oven and the house smells like fresh berries and almonds. They came out beautifully golden around the edges..

This turned out a lot better than I expected. I was afraid I might taste the olive oil (I ran out of canola) and it didn’t! The texture was spot on to the ones I adore at Brulee bakery, a nice crisp top and the interior was really moist, fluffy with a tender crumb and huge chucks of raspberries in every bite and melty chunks of white chocolate. A-mazing. I’ll be using this base recipe for other variations in flavours in future recipes for sure.

Recipe adapted from a zucchini cranberry bread I found here.

  • 1.25 cup organic unbleached flour
  • 1/2 cup organic raw almond meal (can make you own by putting almonds in a food processor, don’t overmix or you’ll have almond butter)
  • 1 tsp aluminum free baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup organic cane sugar
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil (didn’t have any canola, but still turned out great)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 1 cup finely grated zucchini
  • 1/2 cup chopped white chocolate
  • 1 cup fresh organic raspberries
  • 1/4 cup slivered almonds

Preheat oven to 375F. Line muffin tin with unbleached muffin cups. In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. Set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk together the eggs, sugar, oil and vanilla, almond extract. Stir in the zucchini. Add the flour mixture, and stir to combine; do not overmix. Using a rubber spatula, fold in chocolate and raspberries.

Scoop batter into muffin cups and top with a sprinkling of slivered almonds, bake for 25 min till edges turn a light golden brown and toothpick comes out clean when inserted into the muffin. This makes 12 muffins.

In other news, me and the boy will be going for a BBQ in Red Deer to celebrate the boys’ mom’s bday on Friday. I thought I would bring something sweet, she is a chocoholic like me and loves rich chocolate-y desserts. I haven’t settled on what I’m going to make yet, but it will definately include these..

Leave a Reply

