{C&G’s no-bake healthy nut butter power balls}

The weather was playing tricks on us tonight, typical Calgary weather. I went for a hilly run, when 20 minutes in, it started to sprinkle. So I ran to the gym for another 20 min of speed work (1 and a half min at 10.0 on the treadmill alternated with 30 sec breaks in between). Looked outside and it was sunny again, so I ran the hilly route again to equal an hour training run. Done and done. The Canmore half is fast approaching, only 5 weeks left! I’ve kinda been slacking with my runs and favouring my cardio classes instead so from here on I’ve got to make sure to get my 3 runs/wk to make sure I’m ready for this race.

Onto the food, the boy is out of town, so dinner was ready in 4 minutes flat. Warm falafel balls slightly crumbled atop a crisp butter lettuce leaf and a dollop of tzatziki. Served with a side of the leftover veggies from last night’s deconstructed pizza extravaganza.

It was quick, fresh and delicious. The added protein from the falafel balls perfect after my run. Quick muscle recovery is key.

For dessert, I want to share with you another of my pre/post workout/anytime snacks I love to make, my easy no-bake power balls. Why are they called power balls? Because they’re packed full of healthy fats, protein and superfoods. Who needs to buy granola bars when you can make you own!

These can be customized with any ingredients you like, I change them up all the time according to what I have on hand.. tonight’s mix include (top left clockwise):

  • crushed organic cacao nibs (minimally processed, peeled and raw cacao beans – a brain food)
  • brown rice crisp cereal (for that crispy texture)
  • black sesame seeds (rich in iron and high in antioxidants)
  • organic white chia seeds (high in fibre, omega 3, antioxidants, calcium)
  • organic hemp hearts (contain all the essential amino acids and fatty acids necessary to maintain healthy human life)
  • organic currents (high in iron and vitamin C).

To make a batch of a dozen I put about 3 tablespoons of each. Then add about 1 cup of rolled oats and a pinch of cinnamon and set aside.

In the other bowl combine 6 T of your favourite nut butter (I used 3 T each of organic peanut butter and almond butter). As well as 4 T of maple syrup and splash of vanilla extract. Stir together till combined (I warm it a bit in the microwave to make it easier to mix).

Mix the wet with the dry ingredients and stir with a wooden spoon till everything is combined and comes together so you can roll into balls. I used my handy dandy cookie dough scoop to make perfect little balls. Look at all those textures and colors! Pop these into the freezer and take them out whenever you need em, a great portable snack wrapped in a bit of saran wrap and put into your gym bag. I like to have one of these after the gym on my walk home to hold back my hunger till I make dinner.

A lot of healthy stuff packed into this little ball.. Be creative! Make your own combo with any ingredients you like: coconut, dried fruit, cocoa powder, nuts, flax, etc.. The recipe is pretty hard to mess up, if it’s too wet, add more dry ingredients like oats, too dry? add more melted nut butter. A perfect snack anytime πŸ™‚

Comments
3 Responses to “{C&G’s no-bake healthy nut butter power balls}”
  1. This was a great base recipe! I used cashew butter, honey, rolled oats, shredded unsweetened coconut, flax meal, sunflower seeds, and cinnamon. I did need to use more nut butter than called for in order to make everything stick together. Delicious. πŸ™‚

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] headed out for my planned 10-12k training run (which turned into a 13.5km). I snacked on one of my power balls from the freezer and a small bowl of maple quinoa cereal with almond milk about 20 min before. I […]



Leave a Reply

