{Reminders of Paris: Best tarte aux pommes in town at L’Epicurie}

I’ve got a ton of work to do tonight, so I’ll leave you with one of my favourite non-chocolate desserts in town, the classic and simple tarte au pomme from L’Epicurie (the lovely french deli on Macleod Tr between the equally delightful Manual Latruwe and Bernard Callebaut). Sweet and perfectly ripe sliced apples fanned out above crisp whisper thin layers of puff pastry. I think what makes this amazing is the tart and sweet apple puree underneath the apples. You can actually feel your teeth sink through each individual buttery flaky layer of pastry, making a loud crunch when you bite into it. Baked fresh daily, it was still slightly warm from the oven.

This pastry always reminds me of my trip to Paris and has deep rooted memories. It was about 9 years ago, and it was my last day in Europe, I was about to board a train from Paris to Amsterdam to catch a flight back to Calgary and I was saying farewell to my boyfriend at the time who would be staying in Europe. It would be the last time I would see him for a long time so I was extremely upset. I remember boarding the train and I was crying my eyes out. I reached into my bag for more tissues and pulled out a gorgeous tarte aux pommes I had purchased at a patisserie earlier that day. I took one bite and I actually stopped crying…yea.. it was THAT good. Every time I take a bite of L’Epicurie’s tarte, I am reminded of that moment when the overwhelming flavours and textures were enough to wipe away all my sadness. Sometimes the most simple desserts are the most comforting..

Comments
One Response to “{Reminders of Paris: Best tarte aux pommes in town at L’Epicurie}”
  1. foodtable says:

    Awe. What a sweet story. Now you got me all curious about this pastry.

Leave a Reply

