{Dining in: Asian inspired beef and vegetable udon bowls}

Gah! I’m so sore from bootcamp last night, more sore than doing a 20km training run! Craziness..

To aleviate the pain, I did some low impact cardio to loosen up muscles and help increase blood flow, which actually aids in the recovery of the muscles (called “active recovery“). I’m also going to do some yoga stretches before bed. I’m a bit afraid cause it’s usually two days after the intense workout that I feel the most stiff and sore..

Onto dinner, I was craving an asian noodle bowl. So I chopped up a couple carrots and a medium sized zucchini into similar sized pieces..

and a small head of cabbage to form lovely pale green ribbons… I cooked the veg in a wok with a touch of olive oil and salt and pepper for about 6 min.

Into another pan goes half a chopped sweet onion and 2 cloves of minced garlic. Cook until onions are translucent and add one small filet of striploin (that I picked up at Sunterra on the way home) cut into thin slices, marinated in: sesame oil, tamari/soy sauce, apple cider vinegar, pepper, some sriracha hot sauce and chinese 5 spice powder and freshly grated ginger..

and my secret ingredient..some mango sweet and sour marinade I got from Bite Groceteria..The tropical sweet flavours go great with fish, pork, chicken or coated over tofu cubes and baked in the oven..

While the beef mixture was cooking, I boiled 2 packs of japanese style udon for 2-3 min in boiling water and add to the cooked veg mixture.

Add in the beef mixture. I thought the flavour was missing a little oomph, so I added in a couple tablespoons of roasted peanut butter and half the juice of a lemon. Now the flavours were well balanced. Sweet, spicy and sour..Bon Appetit!

I like my noodle bowls with about a 2:1 ratio of veggies to noodle, so this was PERFECT..

Enjoyed while watching my new must-watch show, Masterchef with Gordon Ramsay.

For dessert, a small ramekin (times 2) of my coconut ginger rice pudding I made last night with honey, freshly grated ginger and a small handful of chocolate chips.. divine..

Leave a Reply

