{Nectar Desserts has closed its doors: A sad, sad day for dessert lovers in Calgary…}

I was browsing the net yesterday, checking out the various food blogs I enjoy reading. I clicked on the Nectar Desserts site just to see if they were featuring anything new, when there it was on the front page: “Nectar Desserts is Closing its Doors“. My heart sank..

It was 3 years ago, we had just moved into the area and I discovered this lovely cafe during one of my strolls in the neighbourhood. Ever since then I’ve been hooked. You can pretty much name any dessert on the menu there and I can recall the taste, scent and look of it in detail. I have several favourites, but none of them match my love for their triple chocolate malt cake ..

Four layers of moist dark chocolate sponge with creamy milk chocolate filling and coated in a darker chocolate ganache and topped with Valrhona crunch pearls. Their chocolate cake was the first dessert I tried at Nectar and up until this day, it’s still my favourite item on their menu. They have other lovely variations of this cake I adore including their matcha blackberry and the raspberry white chocolate mousse.

I’m often told by both the boy and my friends who know my dessert-loving tendencies that I should buy shares in this place, because I’m definitely keeping them in business with my frequent visits (the boy has caught me sneakily driving there to get my sweet fix). I’ve mentioned my love for this place several times on my blog, I even did a class there to learn how to make French Macarons.

I headed over there on Sunday at about 3pm and was greeted by the owner, Rebekah. I looked around, the shelves that used to be filled with teas and gourmet candies were bare, all the housemade ice creams were gone from there freezer except for about 3 pints of apricot sorbet, even their glass case looked sparse. Luckily there were still a couple of chocolate cakes left. I asked if I could buy a whole one, Rebekah said they stopped selling whole cakes the day before but she made an exception for me since I was a regular 🙂 Score…

Oh my goodness..layers of bliss. I split this baby into 4, wrapped well and stored in my freezer to be rationed during those chocolate emergencies..

I also picked up an unbaked blueberry pie, filled with a whole pound of local blueberries..

It came with baking instructions. Bake until bubbly and golden on the top..

Today they were having their public sale of their equipment and small wares from 12-8pm.. Me and my coworker got there about 5 min to 12 and there was a lineup!

Shortly after noon, they let us in and it felt like boxing day. Elbows were flying!! They were selling everything including their plates, bowls, utensils, teapots, vases, glassware, ribbons, cake stands and all their furniture.. I was hoping they would sell some of their excess ingredients like their to-die-for valrhona chocolate ganache sauce, but there were none to be seen.

Here are the things I picked up:

Some spoons, knives and ceramic spoons (for individual creme brulee bites)..

A gorgeous glass teapot with a built in and removable tea filter that sits in the middle.

A three tier square plate stand.. perfect for entertaining: small appies, bite-sized desserts or finger sandwiches..

This lovely lace trim ivory cake stand and 6 of these cute little jars (which I intend on filling with homemade jams or compotes or maybe even a mini cheesecake in a jar)..

I fell in love with this the moment I saw it, I have a weakness for cake stands…

Goodbye Nectar..you’ve been there for us during our weekly movie nights at home (we usually get take-out dessert), the perfect stop when I’m in a rush and need to bring over sweets to impress, fulfilling my cravings whether it be for fruity, chocolate or creamy or all three at the same time. I’ll never forget that lovely scent of bergamot oil that made my favourite earl grey tea macarons (or the delectable black sesame caramel – my 2nd fave), admiring that glass case lined with rows of beautiful creative tarts filled to the brim with fresh, local and seasonal produce, those huge glass cookie jars stacked perfectly with those melt-in-your-mouth lavender shortbread cookies, those buttery yet light as air scones on tea party Sundays. I’ll miss it all

It’s a sad end but I can’t wait to see what Rebekah decides to do next, whatever it is, I’m sure it will be delicious..

Comments
8 Responses to “{Nectar Desserts has closed its doors: A sad, sad day for dessert lovers in Calgary…}”
  1. Sommerset Mallory says:

    Nectar closing the doors is long past due.
    We gave the operation 3 chances.
    1 st chance we complained about the service, cleanliness and deplorable food quality. Sticky toffee pudding was neither sticky nor pudding.
    2nd chance was equally bad. complained and were berated by staff member.
    Returned after 6 months and walked out the door when our group of 3 was not allowed to sit together.
    All those people who blogged and raved about this operation were deluded.
    More bad Calgary food businesses should close. Ruth Christ and more are on the list.

  2. eatrundesign says:

    In response to the negative feedback about Nectar, my reviews are based on my personal experience (like all my reviews are), I have nothing but good things to say.

    I rarely sat in, we usually grabbed takeout, and counter service has always been quick and friendly. We do this cause weekends are usually ridiculously busy. I may have had extra attention since I was a regular. Which is no excuse for other people’s bad experience.

    As well, the desserts I’ve eaten have been consistently good. Just like the other places I write about on this blog, a review is a based on MY personal experience and I never had a bad one there. Sorry to those who didn’t have good luck there. No need to get nasty people!

  3. Heather says:

    A sad day in Calgary indeed. I have had many good memories with girlfriends at Nectar. .. .it was one of those great places that you could go and have some quality girlfriend time and some GREAT dessert. So sad.

  4. Vincci says:

    You managed to pick up some gorgeous stuff! Brian and I were thinking of going as he’s in need of some dining room chairs, but we figured it would be busy and that the good stuff would be gone – I only feel a slight relief that we were probably right based on the lineup.

    • eatrundesign says:

      Yea, it was a little out of hand, people were going crazy, grabbing handfuls of stuff left and right. I saw some great furniture pieces but I didn’t have room in my car to bring it home 😦

  5. Vlad says:

    I must say both I and some friends of mine tried nectar a few times and our collective reaction was “meh.” I can’t say it entirely surprised me that they closed. Not to mention that the entrance was far from obvious for the average person walking down the street.

  6. Alouise says:

    My friends and I went to Calgary back in May and Nectar was the highlight of the trip. The best dessert Ive ever had. I was really hoping to go back and sample some more food, but sadly it’s not to be.

Leave a Reply

