{Dining in: Local and organic chicken vegetable soup for the soul}

The chilly fall mornings this past week have been making me crave something warm for dinner. Solution: C&G’s chicken vegetable soup. What could be more comforting 🙂 A great excuse to make some room in my packed-to-the-brim freezer too. I started by boiling the bones of two chickens I had stored in a freezer bag (when we have chicken, I usually keep the leftover bones to make chicken stock).

Add a few of these apples picked from our backyard..not sure what kind they are, they’re both tart and sweet and bigger than crab apples..

Some organic yams and white potatoes from our SPUD box..

Along with a yellow onion, two ears of taber corn, a couple of carrots..

All chopped up into 1/2 inch pieces. I cooked these in my wok with drizzle of oil until they were caramelized on med high heat. The browning of the veggies is the key to getting that delicious full-bodied flavour in your soup. Season with freshly ground pepper..

and a few tablespoons of les herbes salees from quebec. A salted herb mixture that adds a ton of earthy flavour (I got this at Cookbook Cooks Co.)

A handful of fresh lemon thyme and sage from mom’s garden..

Remove the chicken bones from the stock (I made sure to get every last piece of meat off and put that back into the soup stock). Add your browned veggies and simmer for about an hour..About 45 min in, I added a couple handfuls of spiral pasta and my secret ingredient..

one of these Spuli or giant risotto balls from Mercato Italian Market in Mission. I had one of these leftover from the day before so I crumbled it into the soup near the end..

I ladled the soup into a big bowl with a side of Wild Grainz multigrain toast..

Look at those delicious chunks of veggies and apple. Every bite was a different taste experience. I loved the mix of sweet potato and creamy white potatoes, which made this soup quite filling. The sweetness of the apples and the corn worked well with the savoury herbs and shredded bits of chicken. My house was filled with the smell of memories of my childhood. This was incredibly flavourful. The boy could not stop talking about how much he loved this soup. The perfect meal to welcome September in Calgary…

Comments
2 Responses to “{Dining in: Local and organic chicken vegetable soup for the soul}”
  1. foodtable says:

    Mmmm…I love some chicken soup. You may have fuji apples…

Leave a Reply

