{Weekend wrap up II: BBQ duck sandwich at Cactus Club, Creole cuisine at Dadeo and post-workout confetti quinoa salad}

We drove up to Edmonton on Sat with our friend and headed over to the mall so I could visit the 3 stores I love but we don’t have in cowtown: Urban Outfitters, Victoria’s Secret and Anthropologie. While I shopped the boys hung out at Hooters for some 911 hot wings and pints of beer..

An hour and a half later (and $200 later) it was now 5pm and I hadn’t eaten since noon so I was STARVING..I knew we had dinner plans at 7:30pm, but I was so ravenous I had to eat.. NOW. I don’t know if any of you get like this, but when I’m hungry, it’s like a “Dr. Jekyl and Mr. Hyde” effect, you better get out of my way or you will be sorry..

We sat in the lounge and I took one look at the menu and knew immediately what I had to have, the Rob Feenie signature dish: BBQ duck clubhouse – tender chunks of duck and seared chicken with crisp sliced of proscuitto, fresh lettuce leaves, aioli and sandwiched between two hearty slices of toasted pecan fruit bread. I had mine with a side of crispy yam fries with a seasoned mayo.

Oh my goodness.. decadant, indulgent, the complete opposite of healthy and I loved EVERY bite of it…

For dinner, our friends booked us a reso at a restaurant on Whyte Ave called Dadeo, a New Orleans style diner and bar that specializes in cajun and creole cuisine. Their signature items include their Po’boy sandwiches, blackened catfish salad, bayou gumbo with andouille sausage, fresh shucked oysters and their jambalayas. I LOOVE good ol’ home cooked food from other cultures..I left the camera in the car so here are some pics from their website..an eclectic retro feel with interesting art and murals randomly placed on the walls.

Booths lining the wall..very 50s diner, poodle skirts and jukebox feel ..

I particularly liked this mural..

After we placed our orders we were served a plate of complimentary mini buttermilk biscuits with a couple containers of their housemade jalapeno jelly. Yum.. I could have had about 5 more biscuits..We were joking at the table that these looked like jello shooters.. yowch.. that would be a cruel joke..

I had a pint of pale ale and the vegetarian jambalaya sweet peppers, onion, zucchini, mushrooms, spinach, and tomatoe and served with a side of coleslaw.($13) which I split with the boy.

I really wanted a po’boy, but I had only inhaled that bbq duck sandwich and yam fries about 2 hours before. The portions were big! They were kind enough to split our order into two plates without asking which was nice of them, each one still looked like a full order though. Phew..so…stuffed..can’t…move..

We drove back to Calgary late last night (arrived about 1:30AM) so I could wake up in the morning to get my last long training run in before the big race in 6 days..

Me and my running partner met up at our usual spot at about 10:30am. The weather was perfect when we started (slightly overcast and about 10 celsius) but it warmed up an hour in and the sun was shining and we starting to overheat near the end (I had 3 layers on, it’s so hard to dress for Calgary weather). We put in a good 16km run in about 1 hour and 20mins. The best part of running.. EATING after 🙂

So I came home and made myself a nice post-workout recovery meal. I present to you my confetti quinoa salad. I put some quinoa on the stove (cooked similar to rice, but faster) and prepped my ingredients. Into a bowl went corn kernels (cut from two cooked ears of taber corn), one chopped roma tomatoe, diced leftovers wedges of potatoes, 1/2 an avocado, handful of fresh dill and a few sprigs of lemon thyme.

After the quinoa was cooked, I added it in to the veggie mixture and made a simple vinaigrette (good quality olive oil, apple cider vinegar, dijon mustard, a spoonful of my homemade apple rosemary compote, salt and pepper).

Served on a bed of organic baby arugula and a couple tablespoons of crumbled feta. High in protein for muscle recovery, carbs to restore glycogen in the liver, veggies to reduce the acid in the body and healthy fats. Quick and easy, fresh flavours and lots of different textures…Loved every bite..

Aaaaand… the winner of the $45 CSN gift card is..

Comment number 2..Denise! Send me an email with your details and I’ll mail you your card 🙂

Comments
2 Responses to “{Weekend wrap up II: BBQ duck sandwich at Cactus Club, Creole cuisine at Dadeo and post-workout confetti quinoa salad}”
  1. Vincci says:

    I get angry when I’m hungry too! B. knows that when I’m “hangry” we need to get some food – STAT!

Leave a Reply

