{Dining in: Caramelized brussel sprouts w/ beef bacon and toasted walnuts and truffled potato leek “risotto”}

So I haven’t posted a meal in the past couple days since I was recovering from a dinner at Bolero, a brazilian BBQ steakhouse on Macleod Trail South. If you’ve eaten there, you know what I mean. It’s that feeling like you need to be wheelbarreled out cause you’re so full (like after a hearty christmas dinner).

The restaurant features gaucho chefs that bring out huge skewers of sizzling fire-roasted meat that they carve at the table. They have an awesome fresco bar too with marinated grilled vegetables and the coconut rice is quite addictive…Aaaand even though we felt like we were going to burst at the seams, I HAD to order a huge slice of their housemade tres leches cake (spanish for “three milk cake“). In case you’ve never tried it before, it’s a sponge cake that is soaked with evaporated milk, condensed milk and heavy cream. I didn’t bring my camera that night, but here is an example of what we had. Ours was topped generously with freshly whipped cream and a mango raspberry coulis..

Image Source

Tonight I felt recovered enough to get back into the kitchen..on the menu tonight. These gorgeous vibrant green petals of brussel sprouts

Into a pan, goes a couple slices of beef bacon (from the Farmers Market)..

Some organic walnuts..

Saute in the pan together till the nuts are nicely toasted and the smell of bacon fills the air.. our kitty Jasper was going craaazy.. Add in your brussel sprout leaves and cook for another 5 minutes and set aside.

I added in a tablespoon of my vanilla rosemary apple butter for some sweetness and a splash of apple cider vinegar to balance out the flavours and compliment the smoky bacon.

Next, the potato leek “risotto”.. Start with chopping half a large leek which I sauteed in a pan with olive oil..

Dice up two russet potatoes into small cubes and add to the pot. Add enough water to just cover the potatoes and simmer. I added in a vegetable boullion cube, rosemary, a tablespoon of basil pesto and freshly ground pepper..

Simmer and stir every once in awhile, just like you would risotto..I would imagine this would be lovely with a splash of refreshing white wine..

Cook for another 10 min till the liquid has reduced, then add in about 1/4 grated parmesan reggiano.

..the leaves off a few sprigs of fresh lemon thyme..when I stirred this into the potato mixture,  an aromatic plume of lemon steam rose from the pot. SOoO intoxicating…

..finished with a drizzle of black truffle oil.. hrmm.. need to buy another bottle soon.. running low..

All plated and decorated with a swirl of truffled balsamic reduction..

These two paired perfectly together. The creamy and earthy flavours of the risotto contrasted with the crunchy petals, crispy chunks of bacon and crunchy toasted nuts…

I will definately be making this one again..

Comments
4 Responses to “{Dining in: Caramelized brussel sprouts w/ beef bacon and toasted walnuts and truffled potato leek “risotto”}”
  1. Lael says:

    Ooooh I need brussel sprouts right NOW! Thanks for the delicious inspiration,I know what I’m putting on grocery list:)

  2. Tatiana says:

    Whoa that looks like quite a recipe! I am actually tempted to make it, so need to buy some brussel sprouts, stat. And lemon thyme, and apple butter… okay apparently I need to go shopping.

    • eatrundesign says:

      haha, i just happened to have lemon thyme from mom, sage or dill would work great too i’m sure and the apple butter took me only about 15 min to heat in the pan, boiled down and blend.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] by eatrundesign on September 10, 2010 · Leave a Comment  TGIF everyone! Remember that potato risotto I made last night. Well, I was craving it AGAIN, so I made another batch with some white potatoes […]



Leave a Reply

