{Dining in: Potato “risotto” part deux and double chocolate zucchini bread}

TGIF everyone! Remember that potato risotto I made last night. Well, I was craving it AGAIN, so I made another batch with some white potatoes that needed to be used up. This time with some plump button mushrooms

They didn’t break down as much as the starchy russet potatoes like last night and kept their shape, but I liked the “bite” these had. The broth was incredibly flavourful. This one is dressed with truffle oil and some local clover honey and a little grated parmesan. Look at that lovely sprig of lemon thyme.. Bon appetit..

For dessert, I was craving some moist chocolate cake, so I made a “healthy-ish” version. A double chocolate zucchini loaf I adapted from here. First grate one medium-sized zucchini and squeeze out the excess water with a dry tea towel. This yielded about 1 and a quarter cup..

In a bowl mix 1/4 cup of olive oil, 1/2 cup of 0% Liberte greek yogurt, 1 egg and 2/3 cup of organic cane sugar..add in your zucchini..

Mix your dry ingredients in another bowl, I used a combination of whole wheat pastry flour and spelt flour, baking powder, salt, cocoa powder and cinnamon..I folded in about 3/4 cup of chocolate (a combination of a Hershey’s special dark bar and organic chocolate chips)..

Bake in a 350F oven for about 50 min.. until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean..

A gorgeous loaf (I think my loaf pan was a bit too big because this one was a shorty..)

Moist, chocolately, the texture was a mix between a cake and a fudgey brownie.. yumm…

Sliced, cooled and wrapped individually to enjoy as a portable snack..

I had a piece with a nice smear of dark chocolate dreams (all natural gourmet chocolate peanut butter)..x2..If you haven’t tried this spread and you like Reese peanut butter cups, go and get a container, it will change your life.

BTW, I’ve decided to move Fitness Fridays to Saturdays, it seems to work better with my schedule..stay tuned..

Comments
2 Responses to “{Dining in: Potato “risotto” part deux and double chocolate zucchini bread}”
  1. Bailey says:

    Where do you purchase your dark chocolate dreams spread in Calgary?

Leave a Reply

