{Dining in: Caramelized Vegetable Elk Meatloaf and Autumn stone fruit crumble}

Tonight I thought I’d treat the boy to some good ol’ comfort food. I’ve been pretty lazy with my dinners, favouring a platter of fruit, veg and snackin on random leftovers. So last night I looked into our deep freeze and found a package of ground elk meat the boy had picked up at the Calgary Farmers Market… Solution: Caramelized Vegetable Elk Meatloaf.. based loosely off a Turkey meatloaf recipe in my cookbook, The Food You Crave.

It starts with about 1/3 of a baguette, torn into pieces and soaked in about 1 cup of milk.. set aside..

Chop up a couple of cloves of garlic and 2 large shallots..into a pan with some olive oil..

..I then added 1/2 chopped green pepper, 2 medium carrots and leftover wedges of roasted potato.. cooked on medium till the veggies caramelize…

Add the mixture to the bowl along with about 2 lbs of ground elk (you could use any ground meat), italian seasoning, alderwood smoked salt, pepper, and a few pinches of my favourite spice rub

ala Jamie Oliver..

Mix all together along with 2 eggs and pour mixture into a loaf pan..top with a mixture of tomato paste, organic BBQ sauce, ketchup, splash of balsamic and a few dashes of tabasco.

Bake for about an hour at 350F and let it sit about 10-15 min before cutting. Serve with a bit more sauce on top. The boy had his with a couple of slices of Sunterra muesli bread.

Next…I had to make use of a growing pile of plums on my kitchen counter..and what could be easier than a crumble..a super easy and quick recipe from Julie..

My mix included red and yellow plums and a huge juicy peach..

1/2c flour, 1/2c oats, 1/2 cup of sugar and 1/4 cup of butter + 2 tbsp of agave nectar…mixed with your finger to form big crumbs..

Toss the fruit with 2 tsp of cornstarch and top with the crumble mixture…

Bake at 375 for 45 min..and voila..

I ate about 1/3 of this in one sitting…crumbles are one of my favourite comfort foods..

Tender juicy chunks of fruit and large clusters of crispy crumble…bliss..

Comments
3 Responses to “{Dining in: Caramelized Vegetable Elk Meatloaf and Autumn stone fruit crumble}”
  1. Heather says:

    I LOVE stonefruit crumbles! Made one this weekend with plums and nectarines. . .there is nothing more comforting – I would agree! Is it wrong that I had it for breakfast? With some skim milk of course.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] the boy’s half I stuffed some leftover elk meatloaf I had defrosted from the freezer and topped it with some fresh mozzarella cheese…he […]



Leave a Reply

