{Post-race recovery eats: Cinnamon Coconut Baked Oatmeal and Alkalizing Juices}

I have been kind of obsessed with oatmeal lately and last night I discovered a new favourite breakfast..baked oatmeal squares that I had adapted from a recipe here.

It starts with an egg, 3 tbsp melted butter, 1/4 cup of organic cane sugar, splash of vanilla extract and 1/2 cup of unsweetened almond milk (any milk will work). Mix with a whisk.

Mix 1.75 cups of rolled oats, 1/4 cup of unsweetened coconut,  1/2 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp of pumpkin spice and a pinch of salt. Add this to your wet mixture and pour into a square pan. Let is sit overnight in the fridge.

To jazz up my oatmeal I made an apple compote. It starts with a couple of apples diced up.. (I had a Fuji and a Gala, any will do)

..sautéed in a sauce pan with a tablespoon of wildflower honey, 1/2 juice of a lemon, cinnamon, nutmeg and a pat of butter. Cook until the apples have softened, but not till they have lost their shape. Don’t want applesauce here.

Allow the mixture to cool and place into a jar to store in the fridge for the morning…

This morning I turned the oven to 350F and baked this beauty for about 40 min till the edges are nice and golden..

When it’s cooled cut into squares..

Served hot with some warmed apple compote in a pool of almond milk..this was DEE-LISH. Crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside and not too sweet. It’s like eating an oatmeal cookie for breakfast, but healthier. I had two of these squares before my gym class this morning..

Next time I think I’ll double the recipe to get a thicker square in my 8″ glass dish. This works great for the work week cause I can bake one batch of squares and compote on the weekend and it will last me all week heated up in the microwave.

You can make this anyway you like: with nuts, seeds, raisins, flax, wheat germ. Top with banana, peaches, any fruit you like. For my next bath, I think add a couple tbsp of peanut butter to the oats and have it with caramelized bananas.

For a mid day snack I cut open this giant cantaloupe we had in our fridge…

Juiced with my immersion blender with a grating of fresh ginger (a great anti-inflammatory, helps reduce post-workout pain). So refreshing! Enjoyed with my stainless steel straw from Crate and Barrel (its perfect cause it has a spoon on the end so you can scoop all the chunks of fruit).

To avoid the dreaded post-race cold (your immunity typically goes down after a strenuous event, like a race). I thought I would make some vitamin and mineral rich juices to boost my immunity.

I got a juicer from the boy’s parents for christmas one year and I LOVE it!

I looked to my cookbooks books for inspiration, the Refresh book is a great one, it’s created by the owners of the award-winning vegan restaurant, Fresh in the Toronto area.

This first one is included carrots (high in vitamin A, help promote good vision), a fuji apple (powerful antioxidant, high in vitamin C), two golden beets (detoxifies the liver and enriches the blood), a giant grapefuit (high in vitamin C, increases immunity) and a lemon (very alkalizing, balance the PH in the body)..

The rule of thumb is to juice the veg/fruit with the lowest water content to the highest. Also make sure to peel your citrus so you don’t get a bitter aftertaste from the peel.

Look at the gorgeous sorbet colours..

Next I changed it up a bit, this time using cucumber – reduces water retention and hydrates. I love cucumber in my juices, it’s so refreshing!

A beautiful pale green with faint swirls of lemony orange…

Stored in a couple recycled glass bottles with lids…the lovely colours remind me of summer (which is what it feels like right now on this sunny Sunday afternoon)..

Off to clean the house and do some gentle yoga to stretch out my achy legs..

Comments
3 Responses to “{Post-race recovery eats: Cinnamon Coconut Baked Oatmeal and Alkalizing Juices}”
  1. Lindsay says:

    what kind of juicer do you have? I am looking into getting one that will process beets and other tough veggies so I was curious as to what you are using!
    thanks!!

    • eatrundesign says:

      I have a Juiceman which is pretty affordable under a hundred dollars. There are 5 pieces that you need to take apart to wash, but its relatively easy. It definitely does it’s job.

      If you are looking for a good one, I highly recommend Breville which I think is the the best. They have various models, but looking at other blogs and hearing reviews from people that own them, they are the best.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] out my other variation of baked oatmeal with my Cinnamon coconut baked oatmeal or Joy’s Baked Oatmeal with fresh raspberries and […]



Leave a Reply

