{Celebratory dinner at mom’s part deux}

I am in yet another food coma…typical dinner at moms 🙂

Tonight I had one of the TOUGHEST workouts of my life (a new class at my gym called “Metabolic Surge” which involves a 5 high intensity plyometric exercises performed in 5 sets with NO REST, followed by sprinting as fast as you can for 30 sec x 5 in groups of 6, and 15 minutes of intense Bosuball core work….aiyee-carumba).

By the time I was done, I was ravenous, which was perfect since we were heading over to mom’s to celebrate my 2nd top ten finish in my division at the Melissa’s 22km in Banff last Sunday (perhaps in a couple years I’ll be finishing with medal standings!! one can hope) 😀

I’ll fill you in on the details tomorrow, but here is a sneak preview..

For starters we had a HUGE platter which included (here’s my plate x 5):

  • red seedless grapes
  • starfruit
  • figs (my new favourite fruit)
  • strawberries
  • watermelon
  • applewood smoked gouda
  • old cheddar
  • chocolate thin mint cookies

…and green tea mochi!! One of my fave japanese desserts. So soft and pillowy on the outside and creamy thick red bean paste in the center.. yum..

Afterwards, I quenched my thirst with a vodka caesar.. delightful..

Appetizer consisted of two perfectly seared scallops atop a bed of creamy barley risotto with fresh oyster mushrooms, baked wedges of acorn squash and a side of peppery lemon arugula salad.

Tune in tomorrow for the rest…

Comments
2 Responses to “{Celebratory dinner at mom’s part deux}”
  1. Tatiana says:

    Well I can see where you get your food sensibilities from – your moms cooking looks amazing. And that workout sounds insane! I can barely get through plyo in P90X, but with NO rest I’d die.

    • eatrundesign says:

      ooh, i’ve heard of that P90X workout, it sounds pretty intense too. Yea.. I actually didn’t think I’d make it to the end of the class, its a very anaerobic workout and I’m quite sore today. But always good to challenge your body, a nice change of pace from all the running I’ve been doing.

      yes, my mom is a superb cook, never cooks with a recipe and never measures anything, yet everything always tastes fantastic 🙂

Leave a Reply

