{Dining in: His & Hers Stuffed Acorn Squash and Almond Butter Rosemary Parsnip Fries}

For the past week and until I leave for Paris I have been on “operation use up the groceries in the fridge in pantry“, so tonight after the gym I pulled out a lovely acorn squash. Usually I just slice them up and roast them in the oven but tonight I thought I’d make it more interesting by stuffing them..

Start off by cutting the squash in half and scooping out the seeds (which you can save and roast in the oven with some seasoning) and then take a melon baller and scoop out some of the flesh to make room for the stuffing ( I put the excess into a bowl and saved it to use in my next meal)…

I baked the halves in the oven face down for 30 min at 375F before adding the stuffing..

For my half, I made a corn pudding that consisted of one egg mixed with 1/2 cup of fresh corn kernels, some thinly sliced leeks, a couple splashes of almond milk and seasoned with s&p. Bake for another 30 min in the oven..

The buttery texture of the squash paired perfectly with the crunchy sweet kernels and creamy egg mixture..

For the boy’s half I stuffed some leftover elk meatloaf I had defrosted from the freezer and topped it with some fresh mozzarella cheese…he thoroughly enjoyed it..

Next I made use of these large parsnips….

My favourite way to enjoy these is to simply chop them up into fry sized sticks…

…and coat them in a sauce made of raw almond butter, freshly chopped rosemary and and a couple of tablespoons of maple syrup and s&p…Baked at the same time as the squash till they come out tender on the inside and crispy and caramelized on the outside..

The nutty flavour goes great with any root vegetable. I’ve also done this with carrots and potatoes before too..a nice way to get a combo of both carbs and protein..Bon appetit 🙂

Leave a Reply

