{Friday date night at Taste and treats from Wilde Grainz Artisan Bakery}

After a long week and a bad start to my Friday morning (I discovered in the morning that Jasper had torn apart one of my favourite hair pieces into a million bits and I also missed my bus by 10 seconds). The boy thought it would be a great idea to de-stress by doing a date night out. So we walked over to Taste, an intimate wine and tapas lounge in the Beltline area.

It was a gorgeous fall day (about 20C!), so we sat outside on their patio. A perfect people watching spot. I had a glass of their fruity, but dry Chardonnay..

The boy had a bottle of their Half Pints Bulldog amber ale from the Winnipeg area, which he quite enjoyed..malty and a nutty aroma..

Afterwards we scanned their menu which consisted of small plates (meant to be shared). They were categorized by price: $5, $10, $15 and $20 for cheese, fish or meat boards…

If you’re feeling extra indulgent, they also offer “The Big Bankowski”, which includes their entire menu for a hefty $250!

We ordered two small plates since we weren’t too hungry. The first was their beef tartare ($15)– with dijon, cornichons and capers and topped with a dash of fleur de sel and pepper and served with a side of two thin toasted bread thins. The tartare was melt-in-your mouth delicious-ness and the perfect balance of spicy kick from the mustard, and the sweetness of the cornichons..

My only complaint is the toasts smelled as if they were spread with a margarine instead of butter..but otherwise a lovely simple dish that went perfectly with my wine..

Next was one of my favourite items on their menu, their Wild Mushroom Gnocchi ($10)with truffle oil and freshly shaved parmesan.

Soft light and creamy doughy pillows of housemade gnocchi and aromatic and earthy mushrooms..this dish was fantastic.. I only wish there was more!

When our bill arrived, the server surprised us with these two cute little mini cupcakes! Today’s flavour was a vanilla cake topped with a cherry cream cheese frosting

I have to say I was not a big fan of the pepto bismol pink colour, but the taste definitely made up for it. Soft fluffy cake and dreamy decadent frosting. A nice ending to a tasty meal.

On Sunday, I went for a walk in Inglewood to take in the gorgeous weather and somehow found myself in the Wilde Grainz Bakery…how could I resist walking past a bakery..speaking of which I’m going to go insane in Paris, probably lugging shopping bags full of treats (only 3 more days till my trip!!! :D)

They had a bunch of gorgeous rustic loaves and thick and indulgent tortes, but I decided to go with these individual delights..a large thick slice of their feature flavour: a pumpkin chai spice scone with a cinnamon glaze..

All the best flavours of autumn into this huge slice…cinnamon, clove, nutmeg, ginger, luscious pumpkin and just the right amount of sweetness. Perfect with my cup of earl grey..

As well as this croissant aux amandes (I know, another one?!) Differing from the Yann Patisserie one in shape, this one had the frangipane in the middle, kind of like a danish…I have to say this one kinda tasted a bit stale, like it was baked the day before.. the exterior was nice and crispy, but I found the interior rather dry and the frangipane was not as creamy and flavourful as the one I had at Yann’s.

…of course I still ate it though 🙂 A pastry would have to be pretty bad for me not to eat it…

Well I’m off to my THIRD Thanksgiving dinner tonight (phew.. eating marathon..) so I’ll leave you with a sneak peek of what I made for dessert (tune in for the recipe and all the eating fest recap tomorrow)…


Leave a Reply

