{Paris: Let the eating begin…}

One of the most fashionable foodie places in Paris is Fauchon. The chic store offers contemporary luxury foods and is a delicatessen, patisserie, fresh grocer, wine cellar all in one! The bold black, white and hot pink are its signature colors and the branding is reminiscent of a high-end clothing brand. The store is lined with rows of delicate french biscuits, gorgeous tins of loose leaf teas, a wall of pates, foie gras and terrines and at the front of the store they feature a large chocolate and pates de fruits bar.

Just around the corner is Cafe Fauchon that has a variety of artfully designed pastries, freshly baked loafs, baguettes and various viennoiseries, pungent french cheeses and sausages. I was in heaven…

Too beautiful to eat… almost…

Yes, those are eclairs!

I picked up a tin of their signature madeleines which included flavours like their classic butter, framboise, caramel and chocolat. Each individually wrapped, perfect for putting in your purse to satisfy your sweet tooth on the go..

A jar of praline chocolate spread…not sure what I’ll do with this yet…perhaps spread liberally between layers of dark chocolate cake or sandwiched between some buttery sable cookies..

A variety of game terrines which included wild boar, stag, rabbit, hare and deer…spread onto slices of freshly baked baguette…

A stack of mini chocolate bars each featuring a different flavour..this one has hazelnuts.. one of my favourite flavours..

I could not resist getting one of their beautiful eclairs.. The Eclair Joconde – featuring none other than the famous Mona Lisa eyes…

This was the best eclair of the trip.. filled with a creamy and decadent chocolate almond cream center…not an inexpensive treat coming in at 6 euros, but it was worth every bite…

The next morning we walked a couple blocks north to one of the bakeries on my to-go list, the Eric Kayser artisan boulanger – breads produced with natural leaven. As we walked, we just followed our noses..the thick scent of buttery pastries and bread is intoxicating…

The bakery is quite busy in the morning with early commuters getting their sweet fix before work… Me and the boy stood in front of the glass in awe, each pastry looking more delicious than the next. We finally decided on the classic croissant… buttery, flaky and oh so tender and light on the inside..

A chausson aux pommes.. which would become my top favourite pastry in Paris… tender slices of sweet cooked apples and spiced apple sauce in between incredibly flaky layers of puff pastry…I found myself dusting my jacket with every bite because of the all of the flaky crumbs…

..as well as this pain au raisin.. dotted with tons of juicy caramelized raisins in swirls of crispy buttery bliss...

We walked off our breakfast in Les Halles, a bustling area lined with cafes, fromageries, patisseries and lots of fresh produce grocers..this is a pic of the Eglise Saint-Eustache right before you enter Les Halles, it was built between 1532 and 1632…

I thought this was a funny name for a bar..

One of the stops included one of the oldest patisseries in Paris, La Maison Stohrer on Rue Montorgueil.. established in 1730…

Walking into the store, you feel like you’ve been transported back in time…

I picked up one of their eclair chocolat, rated by Figaro newspaper as the best eclair in Paris… how could I not get one..

Soft and tender choux pastry and creamy thick chocolate in the center…I could eat like 10 of these…

After my sweet treat we took the metro over to “modern Paris” to the area called La Defense, the major business district. Quite the contrast in architecture here with its tall high rises and glass exteriors..I felt like I had entered a different city..

After exploring for a couple of hours, we sat down for a savoury buckwheat crepe…this one featured ham, cheese and mushrooms with perfectly runny egg in the middle…the key is to get a bit of egg in every bite.. perfectly satisfying..

After a full day of shopping, around 9pm we set out to a restaurant for dinner..the boy wanted to watch the French soccer game so our hotel hostess suggested this place..which was a couple blocks from our hotel…

Since I hadn’t had a single green all day, I ordered the Comptoir L’Europe house salad which was a mountain featuring gravlax, shrimp, proscuitto, foie gras and crispy toasts atop a huge bed of dressed greens..

Just look at that portion of foie gras.. buttery and melt in your mouth texture, perfect on the wedges of toast…

The boy had the steak tartare, topped with olive tapenade and speared with two toasted baguette slices..he also had a side of waffle cut frites..so flavourful with the spicy dijon and crunchy cornichons…

To end dinner, I had my first coffee. I NEVER drink coffee EVER, but I could not resist as I watched so many other tables enjoying their after dinner drinks, so I ordered a cafe creme shot of espresso with equal parts cream or milk..mine came with a small chocolate truffle on the side.. melt in your mouth with the coffee, its just like a mochaccino..soo…good…

The boy had a straight up “express” or espresso..

Tomorrow I’ll recap our 4 hour bike tour, the highlight of our trip and many many more eats…

Comments
6 Responses to “{Paris: Let the eating begin…}”
  1. foodtable says:

    Love this post! Hope you are having fun in Paris! 🙂 By the way, I went to Montreal et Quebec. Beautiful!

  2. Lindsay says:

    wicked post. let me just dab the drool off of my face. I want that eclair!!

  3. Tatiana says:

    Yep, all the pastries look mouthwatering. And those eclairs look totally psychedelic.

  4. David says:

    I need to stop reading this. I’m drooling all over my keyboard.

Leave a Reply

