{Quick post: “Winging” a half marathon and brunch at Laurier Lounge with the girls}

So I know I haven’t been talking about fitness in a while. I have still been consistently going to the gym about 4-5 times/week doing a combination of core strength classes and high impact cardio aerobics. However one thing I haven’t done in about two months is running (ran a medium paced 10km in Paris). I thought the Melissa’s 22km race would be my last race of the year and I had planned on taking a break from running till January when I would start training again for the full marathon. Just as a mental and physical break for myself..

Well..that all changed today when I made a last-minute decision on Friday to take over another person’s bib to run the Last Chance Half Marathon this Sunday morning..Proving that you can still finish a 21.1km race with no training (don’t get me wrong, it was probably the toughest race I’ve ever run), but I was pleased with the results – coming in only 7 minutes slower than my fastest time on the half, not too bad for winging it..

Luckily I finished it injury-free and not much soreness. I DO NOT recommend anyone else do this and I will definitely not be running a race like this again with no training..

I just couldn’t turn down a free technical t-shirt and a finishers medal…oh, the pain runners endure for some fabric and a piece of metal…

They served brunch afterwards at The Garage restaurant and bar at Eau Claire Market for the participants. I was RAVENOUS and quickly scarfed down 4 pancakes with maple syrup, a giant pile of scrambled eggs and hash browns, a large scoop of fruit, a sausage link  and two glasses of orange juice. Definitely a pretty average buffet meal, but at this point I was willing to eat just about anything.

After a quick hot shower and a change, I was off to Laurier Lounge to meet the girls for brunch (yes..I was STILL hungry)..

One of the girl’s had the Montreal Filet Mignon Hambourgoisa thick juicy medium rare patty topped with thinly sliced red onion, lettuce, tomato, Emmental cheese, horseradish and garlic aioli. The boy had ordered this burger the last time we were here and declared it one of the best burgers he’s ever had..

..served with a generous portion of fresh salad..

My other friend ordered the Californian Eggs Benedict a poached egg with hollandaise sauce atop a bed of smoked salmon and cream cheese sandwiched between a croissant, served with a side of crispy fries..

I was starting to feel a little queasy (probably cause I ate my breakfast so fast after the race), so I went with the Laurier Parfait a blend of yogurt, muesli, freshly diced apples, bananas and strawberries and dried fruit and mixed nuts.

A VERY filling meal, I only managed to finish about half…In the end I think I prefer my yogurt and granola separate for the crunchy/creamy and smooth contrast. This one was kind of like a soft oatmeal texture..

After running some errands, I ate a giant bowl of salad for dinner, but the highlight of the meal was the dessert..

I snuck out one of these from the freezer and popped it into the oven at 350F for about 10 minutes..my mom gave us a few of these last time we visited her, they’re apple turnovers from Costco and I have to say they are pretty darn delicious..a nice quick fix when you’re craving a slice of apple pie.. I LOVE the crunchy sugared top on the flaky pastry braid..

In other news, here are some treats I made from our recent company party launch…recipes to come…

Comments
11 Responses to “{Quick post: “Winging” a half marathon and brunch at Laurier Lounge with the girls}”
  1. Babygirl says:

    WOW that looks great! I love a good burger

  2. David says:

    Nice collection of bling you got there! I ran the race yesterday too! I’m so sore… and I got blisters on my feet… : (

    • eatrundesign says:

      oh goodness!! I have a great tip, its kinda icky but it works. Coat your feet in a thin layer of vaseline where you tend to get your blisters before you put your socks on. Ever since then I haven’t gotten one blister, even when I did the marathon 🙂

      I’m quads and IT band are quite sore today, the soreness is usually the worst two days after.. ugh..

      • David says:

        Thanks for the tip! I’m gonna try that next time and running socks too. It’s weird, because I never got blisters when I ran a practice one with the running room. Only get them on race day… Same with my 10K for corporate challenge.

        Also, the coconut water was really good. Didn’t quite taste like coconuts though…

      • eatrundesign says:

        Oh thats weird you don’t get them on practice runs.. oh, I forgot to mention in case you don’t already, but make sure they’re synthetic socks, not cotton. Ooh, nice. Yea, the coconut water is not supposed to taste like coconut, I’m not sure I’d be able to stomach it if it did. Its funny I tried to eat a date at about 16km and couldn’t get it out from the saran wrap so I ended up eating half the plastic wrap haha.. live and learn I guess..gotta find another way to wrap my fuel.

        I’ve done 3 of those 10km corporate challenges in the past years, those are pretty fun 🙂 It was my first race I ever did.

  3. Jenny says:

    It was a lovely day for a race (aren’t you glad it isn’t next weekend?)! Like you I find I’m most sore 48 hours after a big run so I am not looking forward to tomorrow 😦

  4. Tatiana says:

    I am pretty decent about working out, but you are so much more dedicated that I’m a bit envious. 🙂 And the best part is a clear slate to eat just about anything after a race. I’d take up running, but I kind of hate it.

    • eatrundesign says:

      haha, yes, I have to say that IS the BEST part of the run, being done and wolfing down a delicious brunch.

      I have to admit me and running have a bit of a love and hate relationship, but the feeling of accomplishment you get after finishing a race is unlike any other 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] said this was one of the best burgers he’s ever had. Possibly even better than the Filet Mignon burger at Laurier […]



Leave a Reply

