{Recipe: Ginger Love – Double Chocolate Spice Cookies and Caramel Gingerbread Cake}

Ginger is one of my favourite spices (hence the name of my blog). Warm and comforting when freshly grated into some hot water with honey and lemon as a soothing drink in the winter. The rhizome has anti-inflammatory properties and helps settle the stomach, which is why I love it after a race too to help me in my recovery.

But one of my favourite ways to enjoy ginger is in baked goodies. The scent of ginger and cinnamon always reminds me of christmas and the holidays and puts me in a cheerful mood. Our first big snowfall arrived last night (a whopping 15cm!) so I thought, what better time to make some ginger-inspired treats..

I wanted to make some sort of ginger molasses cookie..with the addition of some wholesome ingredients like organic whole wheat pastry flour and applesauce in place of some of the butter…so after some research, I present to you these lovely chocolate spice cookies

…dark chocolate and warm spices like ginger, cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg infused into each bite…

…take it up a notch with a nice smear of Fauchon’s prailine chocolate spread

..or when they’re cooled, spreading them with a layer of glossy melted dark chocolate on top…yea..I went there..

…the perfect compliment to a large mug of creamy hot cocoa or this chocolate spice black tea from Kusmi in Paris..

C&G’s Double Chocolate Spice Cookies (adapted from the book Perfect Light Desserts)

  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat pastry flour (can also use all-purpose flour)
  • 1/3 cup alkalized (Dutch process) cocoa powder
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 cup cane sugar
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • extra granulated sugar for rolling (optional – not necessary if you’re adding chocolate on top)
  • Set racks in the upper and lower thirds of the oven and preheat to 350 degrees.

    Sift the dry ingredients into a bowl and set aside.

    In another mixing bowl, beat the butter and sugar together with a large rubber spatula. Beat in the applesauce and molasses.

    Stir in the dry ingredients to make a soft dough.

    Use a small ice cream scoop or just roll small balls in between your hands, roll in granulated sugar and flatten them a bit  on the cookie sheet (spaced out about 1″ apart).

    Bake the cookies for about 10 minutes, changing the position of the pans about halfway through the baking. Exchange the top pan and the bottom and also turn them back to front at the same time. The cookies will still be fairly moist when they are done. Avoid overbaking them or they will be dry and hard.

    Move the cookies to a rack to cool. Be sure not to overbake these cookies, so they stay tender in the middle.

    While the cookies were in the oven, I was on such a roll I decided to do another take on a ginger..the Starbucks holiday gingerbread slices are one of my favourite treats they offer around this time of year, so tonight I thought I’d make my own 🙂 Mix your dry ingredients..similar to the ingredients in the cookies..

    …and your wet ingredients in your mixer bowl…with LOTS of freshly grated ginger..mmm..

    …30 min in the oven at 350F and voila!! I added a handful of dried lemon zest all over the top right before I popped it into the oven.

    …the aroma in the house was unbelievable..there’s no candle out there you can get that can replicate this smell…

    …after cooling for about 10 minutes it slid out like a dream out of the pan and onto my cake pedestal..

    …slice a generous portion for yourself…great enjoyed on its own, or with a nice large scoop of vanilla bean ice cream…or freshly whipped cinnamon cream

    …or if you’re like me, spread a thin layer of dulce de leche all over the top of the warm cake…

    ..moist and just the right amount of spice…

    …good to the last bite..

    Real Gingerbread (adapted from Gourmet’s recipe here)

    *Note: I halved this recipe to fit my smaller 7″ round pan*

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted butter, well softened
  • 2/3 cup molasses (not blackstrap)
  • 2/3 cup packed dark brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3 tablespoons finely grated (with a rasp) peeled fresh ginger
  • 2/3 cup hot water
  • Put oven rack in middle position and preheat oven to 350°F. Butter a 9-inch square baking pan.

    Whisk together flour, baking soda, spices, and salt in a bowl.

    Beat together butter, molasses, brown sugar, eggs, and ginger in a large bowl with an electric mixer at medium speed until combined. Reduce speed to low and mix in flour mixture until smooth, then add hot water and mix until combined (batter may appear curdled).

    Pour batter into pan and bake until a wooden pick or skewer inserted in center of cake comes out clean, 35 to 40 minutes (Mine was done in 30 mins). Cool to warm in pan on a rack.

    Comments
    4 Responses to “{Recipe: Ginger Love – Double Chocolate Spice Cookies and Caramel Gingerbread Cake}”
    1. Babygirl says:

      I showed this recipe to my mom and now she is wayyy to excited lol. Again, thanks so much for sharing it with us..

    2. Babygirl says:

      Oh she loves gingerbread.. hehe. The both of you are going to make me hungry or fat this winter lol. Thanks so much for visiting my blog. I truly appreciate it. And again, thanks for sharing your adventures with the world. It definitely made me get a move on to get to Paris…

      • eatrundesign says:

        Aww, you’re so sweet. I love looking back and my pictures and reliving the memories too, YES. Paris is the most beautiful place and everyone is so effortlessly chic and fashionable too. Moving to Paris to live is definitely in the 5 year plan for me 🙂

    Leave a Reply

