{Recipe: Guinness chocolate cupcakes and my most popular cookies ever}

Happy Friday everyone! It’s a chilly -19C in Calgary right now and the perfect time to stay indoors and bake up a storm. So I present to you these delightful sweets that go great with a nice cup of cocoa, a cozy blanket and a good book 🙂

The company I work for recently had their relaunch party (new corporate identity and renos in our office). So to celebrate, we invited approximately 150 of our clients and suppliers to our revamped space for some wine and nibbles and to see some of the new work we’ve been doing…

I was in charge making desserts for the event so I needed make “no fuss bite size sweets” that were still fun and a little out the of the usual…Solution..Guinness Chocolate Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting in our corporate colours..

*I apologize for the dark pics, one of our lights burned out in the kitchen and I was way to busy to fix it..

The blue one was my favourite…these were so fun to mix (I used gel paste colours and a toothpick to add the colours)..

Mix your batter together and put a small dollop into unbleached mini muffin cups…baked in this new 24 cupcake pan I got from William Sonoma..LOVE IT! I used to use just a 12 mini muffin silicone pan, this one is so much more efficient and cooks them so much more evenly…

Bake these little beauties in the oven for about 15 minutes at 350F, let me cool for about 10-15 minutes before you start to decorate them..

I referenced our business cards to colour match the frosting and I must say they were a pretty close match…

I used my 808 star tip and a large ziploc plastic bag with a hole cut in the corner to frost these (my package of 6 pastry tips from William Sonoma)…

In the end, I had about 60 of these colourful little cakes..

..I sprinkled a little coloured sugar on top of each to add a little sparkle..Bon Appetit!

Mini Guinness chocolate cupcakes w/ Cream Cheese Frosting

(adapted from Katie Quinn Davies recipe for Guinness chocolate cake)

Cake Ingredients
  • 250 g (1 c. and 2 tbsp) unsalted butter
  • 250 ml (1 c.) Guinness
  • 75 g Dutch process cocoa ( 3/4 c.), sifted
  • 275 g (2 +  1/4 c.) all purpose flour, sifted
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • 400 g (2 c.)  sugar
  • 2 medium eggs
  • 150 ml (2/3 c.) sour cream
  • 1 tbsp. good quality vanilla extract
Frosting Ingredients
  • 300 g (1 + 1/3 cup) cream cheese
  • 150 g (1+1/2 c.) powdered sugar, sifted
  • 150 ml (2/3 c.) cream, whipped
  • gel food colouring
Instructions
Preheat oven to 350F.

1. Add butter, cocoa and Guinness to a saucepan. Warm over a medium heat and stir until melted. Set aside for 5 to 10 minutes to cool slightly.
2. Add flour, baking soda and sugar to a large mixing bowl and mix together well. Pour in the Guinness/cocoa/butter mixture, lightly combine, add the vanilla, eggs and sour cream and beat everything together until well combined. The batter should be thick and dark chocolate in color.
3. Pour batter 2/3 of way into a mini muffin pan lined with unbleached paper muffin cups. Bake mini cupcakes for about 15 minutes at 350F until a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean.
4. Leave to cool for 10 to 15 minutes on a rack before frosting.

Frosting Instructions
1. Place the cream cheese into the bowl of a mixer and beat on a low-medium speed using a whisk attachment (I find a paddle attachment tends to over-beat the cheese). Whisk until the cheese is smooth and there are no big lumps remaining.
2. Gradually, using a large spoon, add in the sifted powdered sugar and beat gently to combine. After 2 to 3 minutes, stop the machine, scrape any excess frosting from the sides of the bowl and beat on medium speed until lump free.
3. Remove bowl from mixer and gently fold in the whipped cream, mixing to fully combine. Split the frosting into separate Add your colours a little at a time till you achieve your desired shade.
4. Scoop the frosting into a large ziploc bag with a pastry tip in the corner and decorate your cupcakes and sprinkle with coloured sugar.

While the cupcakes were baking in the oven, I started cutting some milk chocolate into small rough chunks..

…as well as this key ingredient..a couple bars of Vosges Mo’s Bacon Bar Chocolate

…to go into my cookie dough batter with more chocolate chips and tons of chopped walnuts for my famous Alderwood smoked bacon chocolate chunk cookies!

Using my cookie dough scooper I made perfect little balls and baked these for about 10 min till the edges are slighly golden brown (don’t overbake or you went get that crispy exterior, chewy interior)..

I topped each with an extra chunk of bacon chocolate and a sprinkling of alderwood smoked salt..

You can find the recipe here on a previous post I did – its a link at the bottom of the post (from when I made them for the Calgary Food Blogger Bake Sale). Enjoy 🙂

Comments
8 Responses to “{Recipe: Guinness chocolate cupcakes and my most popular cookies ever}”
  1. anglia says:

    nice article on chocolate thanks for sharing.

  2. Brian L. Baker says:

    One question. How long do you pake the muffins? I see the temperature, and how long you should let them cool, but not how lonf to bake them. Thank you!

    • eatrundesign says:

      For my mini cupcakes, I baked them for about 15 minutes at 350F until a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean. Let them cool about 10-15min on a cooling rack out of the pan before frosting them (or else you’ll end up with melty frosted tops)

      Hope this helps 🙂

  3. joanna says:

    OH WOW¬!!!!! saw this on Foodpress and HAD TO HAVE A PEEEK!
    Your photos are amazing!!! these look amzing!!! and you matched the colours oh so perfectly!!!
    I thought I was cold here in Germany with -2 weather! -19???? thats crazy!!!
    I’m from Australia, so I’m not used to this freezing coldness AT ALL…. 🙂 but, the christmas markets are beautiful here….esp when its freezing – a little gluhwein fixes all 🙂

    xx

    • eatrundesign says:

      Aw, thanks for your kind words.

      oh -19 is nothing here, the past few days its gotten down to almost -38 with the wind chill…thank goodness its finally warmed up a bit here. As yes, I have some good friends from Brisbane who came here on an exchange program back when I was in Uni who were not used the cold weather here.

  4. Melissa says:

    This was a GREAT recipe! I modified the cake recipe a little bit (added some spice!) and it came out wonderfully. I posted pics and my additions over at scarletcardinal.blogspot.com. Thank you so much, again!!

    • I love to hear reader’s feedback on recipes they’ve tried, those cupcakes look DELICIOUS!!! I also share a love for Mo’s Bacon Bar, they’ve become a key ingredient in my signature cookie recipe. Bacon, chocolate and beer? That sounds like a way to a guy’s heart! 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] cup of cream cheese frosting (original recipe called for a white chocolate […]



Leave a Reply

