{Brown rice two ways: Five Spice Tofu and Greens on Toasted Coconut Rice and Asian Pineapple Fried Rice}

One of my favourite quick and easy to prepare weekday dinners is rice bowls. On Sunday you make a large pot of rice and from there the variations are endless. Here are a couple of recipes I’ve made earlier this week..

It starts with cooking up a large pot of short grain brown rice… I love the nice chewier texture and nutty flavour that white rice does not have.

What’s the difference between brown and white rice? When you remove the outer most layer of a grain of rice (the husk), you get brown rice. Remove the next layer (the bran and germ) and you get white rice. The result of removing this layer means a loss of several dietary vitamins and minerals, therefore making brown rice more nutritious..

No need for a rice cooker!

  • Just pour your rice into your pot, rinse the rice a few times and strain till the water is no longer cloudy, drain thoroughly.
  • The rule of thumb is one part rice to one and a half parts liquid (water, coconut milk, chicken stock..)
  • Heat the rice on high till it boils, then turn it to low and cover with a lid and leave it till the rice is nice and tender. Easy as that!

Instead of water, I used a can of this organic light coconut milk..

To enhance the coconut flavour, I toasted about 1/2 cup of unsweetened coconut flakes and added this to my cooked rice along with a pinch of salt and sugar…set aside.

In a wok with a little oil, I heated up slices of zucchini, florets of broccoli (including the stalk) and cubes of my five spice tofu cubes with some tamari, sesame oil, a spoonful of hoisin sauce and some freshly grated ginger. Cook until the veggies are a vibrant green and serve this over the coconut rice. Sprinkle a few pinches of black sesame and voila, a quick and healthy mid-week dinner..

To make the five spice tofu cubes:

In a 8″ glass baking dish I mixed together tamari, sesame oil, apple cider vinegar, a spoonful of peanut butter, freshly grated ginger, a minced clove of garlic and a few pinches of five spice powder, mix well. Chop up a block of extra firm tofu into small cubes and put this into the baking dish and coat each cube. Bake at 400F for about 1/2 hour till all the liquid is evaporated and the tofu is nicely browned.

Tonight I decided to change things up…this time I chopped up 1/2 a leek, one diced red pepper, a large purple carrot and about 3/4 cup of fresh pineapple..

Cook all the ingredients in a wok along with 1 cup of five spice tofu cubes and your cooked rice and stir in a lightly beaten egg, making sure to coat all the rice. I then added some lemongrass, tamari and a small spoonful of red thai curry paste..

Cook for a couple more minutes on high heat and dinner is served. A nice balance of spice from the curry paste, brightness from the lemongrass and sweet from the pineapple..This is  great served on a bed of spinach and sprinkled with some sliced almonds for a nutritious lunch tomorrow..

*Another variation I tried is having the rice for breakfast – Banana walnut coconut rice bowl. Simply put about 1 cup of your coconut rice into a bowl, add in vanilla almond milk, cinnamon and nutmeg. Heat in the microwave for about 1 minute then top with some chopped walnuts, slices of 1/2 banana and a drizzle of wildflower honey. A nice alternative to oatmeal*

For dessert tonight, I HAD to try out Julie’s recipe for salted peanut butter hot chocolate..my version included these ingredients below..a tablespoon of chocolate peanut butter, 2 T of hot chocolate mix, a pinch of cinnamon and a tsp of my thick and aromatic vanilla extract from Paris…LOVE this stuff…best vanilla I’ve ever bought..even better than the Neilson-Massey ones I used to buy.

I heated up about 1 and 1/2 cups of vanilla almond milk in a saucepan and melted a few of these Valrhona dark chocolate discs

..after the chocolate melted, I stirred in the rest of the ingredients then blended the mixture with my immersion blender to make it nice and smooth..topped with a couple of marshmallows and a small pinch of my fleur de sel de Guerande…this.was.amazing.

..making sure to get a little piece of melty marshmallow in every bite. Salty, sweet, nutty and chocolately with a hint of spice. A drink like this at the end of the day sure makes the cold temperatures here a little more bearable..I can’t wait to try other variations (next time with my own homemade marshmallows)…

…I think for my next hot chocolate I’m going to use some of this lovely pale green pistachio paste and culinary lavender from Provence I brought back from Paris to make a lavender pistachio hot chocolate..mm.. stay tuned..

Comments
3 Responses to “{Brown rice two ways: Five Spice Tofu and Greens on Toasted Coconut Rice and Asian Pineapple Fried Rice}”
  1. Vincci says:

    Yum. This entire post looks *so* delicious. Will have to try these recipes soon!

  2. eatrundesign says:

    Thanks VIncci, haha I’ve been on a little of a rice kick lately as you can tell 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] peasy. I think some batons of five spice tofu would be pretty tasty in this […]



Leave a Reply

