{Holiday Cookie #5: Vanilla Bean and Peppermint Oreos}

Only a couple more days till christmas, I hope you all have your xmas shopping done. I remember last year I was in the mall on christmas eve getting last-minute gifts..not fun..

So before I present to you my 5th recipe in my holiday cookie series. I wanted to show you a couple of things I picked up on the weekend at one of my favourite stores, Anthropologie (Which opened its first store in cowtown on Friday!) Nothing really interested me in the clothing department, but the kitchen section was a whole different story..

I’m a sucker for unique measuring cups, so I got this set of hand-painted ceramic cups..

…love that they brought the outside detail to the bottom of the cup too…

..a couple of shell spoons for my small measurements..

…and this cute yellow ochre apron…love the vertical ruffle detail on the top…very Parisian chic..

Ok..enough shopping talk. Onto the cookie..I’ve seen recipes for homemade oreos popping up everywhere. But there was one particular recipe that caught my eye..Thomas Keller’s Oreos or “TKO’s” as they’re often called… I remember trying these at his famous Bouchon Bakery last summer when we were in NYC…creamy white chocolate ganache sandwiched between two dark, crisp and not-too-sweet chocolate sable cookies…pure bliss.

The recipe was easy and yielded delicious results. My cookies did not turn out super dark like a typical oreo (I used a lighter coloured cocoa). But tasted just as amazing..

The key is to roll the dough between two layers of plastic wrap before cutting out your rounds..

When they’re cooled, I piped a swirl of cream cheese frosting into the middle (I didn’t have whipping cream to make original recipe filling and remembered I had leftover frosting in the freezer from my Guinness chocolate cupcakes)..I made one batch of peppermint which I coloured with red gel paste and added vanilla bean paste to the other half of the frosting.

…a stack of festive oreos…now all I need is a tall glass of spiced almond milk

Thomas Keller Oreos aka TKO’s (via tastyplanner.com)

  • 1 1/2 cups plus 3 Tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup plus 1 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 15 Tbsp unsalted butter, cut into 3/4″ cubes, at room temperature
  • 1 cup of cream cheese frosting (original recipe called for a white chocolate ganache)
  • 1 tsp peppermint extract
  • red food colouring paste
  • 2 tsp vanilla bean paste

1. For the Cookies: In a large mixing bowl, combine the flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda, and salt, and mix on low speed. With the mixer running, add the butter, a piece at a time. The mixture will be dry and sandy at first, but over 2 minutes, will form pebble-sie pieces that start to cling together. Stop the mixer and transfer the dough to your board.

2. Preheat oven to 350F. Separate dough into 2 pieces. Roll each piece of dough between 2 pieces of plastic wrap or parchment paper to 1/8″ inch thick. Using a fluted cutter (mine was 1.5″), cut into rounds. Scraps can be pieced together and rolled out again. Place 1/2″ apart on baking sheets lined with Silpat liners or parchment paper.

3. Bake for 12 minutes, rotating halfway through baking. Remove and cool in the pan for 5 minutes, then transfer cookies to a cooling rack. Cool completely.

5. To Assemble: Lightly whip the cream cheese frosting (I split the batch in half and added 2 tsp vanilla paste to one and 1 tsp peppermint extract to the other along with a couple drops of red food colouring) and scoop into a pastry bag with a small round tip. Pipe in a circular motion on one side of the cookie. Put another wafer on top and put enough pressure to push the frosting to the edges evenly. Store cookies in an airtight container. You can also freeze the cookie wafers without the frosting for longer storage.

All ready to go into these whimsical packages along with my other holiday cookies (A set of 8 bags from the Martha Stewart Christmas Collection I got at 40% off with my Michael’s coupon – woo hoo!)

Comments
2 Responses to “{Holiday Cookie #5: Vanilla Bean and Peppermint Oreos}”
  1. foodtable says:

    oh, love anthro too. they have lovely things! Happy New Year to you!!

Leave a Reply

