{Kale two ways: Coconut curry squash wraps & veggie sausage calzones}

Tonight’s key ingredient…kale. I’ve had a bunch of these giant green leaves in my fridge the past week and have finally decided to tackle them for this week’s meals..

I kinda made these recipes up after taking a look at what I had in the fridge…It starts with washing the leaves in cold water and cutting out the tough rib in the center.. Take the leaves in a stack and steam them over boiling water for a few minutes till they turn a dark vibrant green..

While those were steaming, I cut some carrots and beets on my mandolin on the thin julienne setting..

I then combined about 1 cup of roasted squash with some caramelized onions, 1/4 cup of coconut milk, and 2 tsp of yellow curry paste. Spoon this mixture and place it on your kale leaf along with some of the julienned veggies and a few sprigs of pea shoots..

Roll them up and voila! A coconut curry squash kale wrap!

The creamy squash mixture paired perfectly with the crunchy matchstick vegetables. I dipped these in a maple balsamic vinaigrette (recipe from The Coup vegetarian cookbook). These were SO good. A nice change from the usual big salad at lunch..

For dinner I had the idea of making calzones..I’ve never made my own pizza dough before and its been on my to-do list for a while…

The recipe called for 3 cups of flour (I used 1 cup of each: unbleached all-purpose flour, whole wheat pastry flour and this wheat free pizza crust flour mix)…

I tried a vegan pizza dough recipe from one of my new cookbooks, the Skinny Bitch Ultimate Everyday Cookbook…Filled with lots of unique recipes and beautiful pictures..

While I let the dough rise, I started on the filling..1/2 a red onion chopped up and sauteed in a pan with a couple of cloves of garlic and 1 T of grapeseed oil..

…add in a couple handfuls chopped cremini mushrooms..

and a large bunch of curly kale…season with black pepper and hot chili flakes..

and a tablespoon of this les herbs salees (a ground mixture of salt, carrot, celery and herbs)..

Put the mixture into a bowl and set aside. In the same pan I cooked up about 3/4 cup of diced garlic sausage…When it started to brown, I removed it from the pan and blotted the excess grease on a couple of paper towels..

…add the vegetable mixture and sausage mixture back to the pan and a can of fire roasted tomatoes..let it simmer for about 8 min and remove from heat..

After an hour, the dough has doubled in size. Cut the dough into four portions and roll them out into 8″ rounds..

Spoon your filling onto one side of the dough and top with shredded jalapeno mozzarella..

Fold it over like a giant perogie and fold over the edges…Cut some slits into the top to allow steam to escape..we don’t want a pizza pop explosions in the oven here..

Bake at 375F for about 15-20 minutes until the cheese is nice and melty and oozing out the top..I broiled mine in the last couple minutes to get a nicely browned top..

A chewy and hearty crust in perfect proportion to the filling..This turned out to be a deliciously successful first attempt 🙂 Bon Appetit!

Comments
3 Responses to “{Kale two ways: Coconut curry squash wraps & veggie sausage calzones}”
  1. Vincci says:

    Yummm. Both of those recipes look so delicious! I love the idea of those kale wraps!

  2. Jenny says:

    I’m going to have to remember your kale wrap idea for this summer when my garden starts producing kale again. I’m always looking for new ways to use it and this is something I never would have thought up on my own.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] dinner, I had the craving for some thin crust pizza, so I defrosted the other half of my vegan pizza dough I had left in the freezer…I also stopped by the store for a couple essential ingredients I […]



Leave a Reply

