{Dining in: Authentic red thai curry in a kit}

I finally had a chance to check out the indoor Kingland Farmers Market this past weekend. I saw a lot of old faces (ones I recognize from the old Farmers Market at the Curry Barraks) and some new ones including the Thai Manna stall, specializing in thai curry kits to recreate at home. They include everything you need for an authentic curry (minus the veggies and meat of course)..

The owner spent 3 months in Thailand learning to perfect the authentic thai curries and as a bonus, all of the ingredients and spices in the kit are gluten-free, dairy and preservative free.

I was encouraged to try all three of her curries to taste test over some white rice (which I eagerly agreed to). The flavours included:

Red curry – the spiciest of the three and extremely aromatic from the various spices and lime leaves (one of my FAVOURITE herbs)

Green curry – a cilantr0 based, fresh and light curry with a mild spice

Massaman curry – a thick tamarind peanut curry with hints of cinnamon, fennel and clove

One bite of the red thai curry and I was hooked. The kits come in two sizes: a small (which serves 2) for $15 and a large kit (serves 5-6) for $23. They also come with your choice of coconut milk in the regular or low-fat. (Note: to get the real authentic experience, regular is the way to go).

I bought two of the small red thai curry kits and was eager to try it out that night..

Inside the box you’ll find all these ingredients which were all labeled and perfectly measured out. The back of the box included easy to follow instructions to guide me through the steps..Easy peasy.

The veggies were whatever I had lurking in the fridge…

All chopped up..

Can’t forget the key ingredient that makes this curry…the limes leaves, cut into thin strips..

I also added a block of oven roasted extra firm tofu and a handful of shrimp for some added protein. Within a half an hour, dinner was served. I ended up adding double the recommended amount of vegetables and this yielded enough curry for 4 meals (dinner and lunch the next day for both me and the boy). A meal for $3.75 each, now that’s a steal of a deal..

I’m already anticipating using my second kit..

You can find Thai Manna at the Kingsland Farmers Market from Thursday to Sunday (just a few blocks south of Chinook Centre) or at the Millarville Farmers Market.

Leave a Reply

