{Recipes: Changing up breakfast to keep it interesting}

If you asked me what my favourite meal of the day was, it would hands down be breakfast. The thought of thick cut challah french toast with a pat of melted butter and maple syrup or crispy and light Belgian waffles covered in warm fruit compote and freshly whipped cream makes my stomach grumble uncontrollably with hunger.

My usual breakfast of choice is usually a couple slices of toast from the Rustic Sourdough Bakery (faves include their Cranberry Pecan or their Alpine Muesli) with a smear of peanut butter/raw almond butter and apricot jam with a dash of cinnamon. Although this is an easy and quick standby, I’ve been getting bored and have found myself craving something a little different to fuel my mornings. So here’s how I have been changing it up the past couple weeks..

Inspired by one of my favourite new cookbooks is this Vegan Banana and Cinnamon Muffins w/ Pecan Almond Streusel.

…each muffin is swirled with chunks of banana and just the right amount of spice. I replaced half the flour with whole wheat pastry flour and reduced the sugar since I don’t like my muffins too sweet. The best part about his is the crunchy toasted pecans and almonds streusel crust on top..

The perfect grab and go breakfast that pairs perfectly with a piece of fruit and large travel mug of my favourite tea..

Banana and Cinnamon Muffins w/ Pecan Almond Streusel

(adapted from Skinny Bitch: Ultimate Everyday Cookbook)

  • 1.5 cups unsweetened almond milk
  • 2 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 2 cups unbleached flour
  • 2/3 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1.5 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 2.5 tsp ground cinnamon, divided
  • 1/3 cup earth balance buttery sticks
  • 1/2 cup cane sugar (original recipe uses 3/4 cup)
  • 1/4 cup applesauce (or you can use yogurt)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 large bananas, mashed
  • 1/3 cup chopped pecans and almonds
  • 1.4 cup firmly packed brown sugar

Preheat the oven to 325F. In a bowl mix the milk, vinegar and let sit till curdled. In another bowl mix flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and 2 tsp cinnamon. In separate large bowl, beat earth balance and sugar till mixture is fluffy (1-2 min). Add applesauce, milk and vanilla. Beat until mixed. Pour wet into dry mixture and stir till just incorporated. Add in bananas.

In a small bowl mix the chopped pecans, almonds and sugar and remaining cinnamon. Spoon muffin batter into paper muffin liners till 2/3 full and sprinkle with streusel.Bake for 20-25 minutes till a toothpick inserted into center comes out clean. Cool on rack.

Another new breakfast addition added to the rotation is a variation on oatmeal. Inspired by Angela’s recipes I made this Pumpkin Pie Spice Overnight Oats. Its super easy to make and since you make it the night before (hence the name) and its ready to eat when you wake up in the morning or for you to pack in your lunch bag for work.

Here’s what you need:

  • 1/3-1/2 cup of organic rolled oats
  • 1 tbsp of white chia seeds
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tbsp of chopped crystallized ginger
  • 1/4 cup of pumpkin puree
  • 3/4 cup of unsweetened almond milk
  • drizzle of maple syrup
  • 1/2 banana sliced
  • 1-2 tbsp graham crumbs/crunchy granola

Mix together the oats, chia seeds and spices, vanilla and ginger. Add the pumpkin puree, almond milk and stir till incorporated. Cover and let it sit overnight in the fridge. In the morning, give it a stir and top with a drizzle of maple syrup or your choice of sweetener, banana and the graham crumbs or granola. Note: If the mixture is too thick, add in some more almond milk to thin it out.

Feel free to make your own variation: subbing pumpkin with applesauce or banana, adding in a tbsp of nut butter of your choice, or some fruit preserves. the possibilities are endless!

My third breakfast idea is a twist on the classic pancake. A favourite combo of mine is this Peanut Butter Banana Coconut Pancake. Just prepare your pancake mix as per the instructions (I used the Bob’s Red Mill buttermilk pancake mix). I added a couple tbsp of wheat germ to the batter and poured it into the pan and added caramelized bananas on top (slices cooked in a pan with a little butter, brown sugar and cinnamon) and a sprinkling of toasted unsweeetened coconut. When it’s done, spread a generous smear of organic peanut butter and some melted raw honey.

This produced a thick and fluffy pancake with staying power that will keep you full for hours.

Hrm.. is this considered breakfast?

Comments
6 Responses to “{Recipes: Changing up breakfast to keep it interesting}”
  1. Merry120 says:

    I eat the same breakfast all the time too. Liberte 0% Greek yogurt, frozen blueberries (thawed) and homemade granola. Delish! (or Deeeee-wish! as my 3 yr old says)

    • eatrundesign says:

      Aww, how adorable 🙂

      Oh my gosh, I LOVE greek yogurt. I was hooked on it when I had it in Greece where they have containers built in with a side of granola and honey (I later realized it was so good cause it was the full fat stuff haha)

      Mm.. your version sounds delish! Would make a great afternoon snack too 🙂

  2. Mary says:

    All your breakfasts sound wonderful! It’s my favourite meal too, though I fall back on cold cereal (with coconut milk) a bit too often during the week. These days I’ve been enjoying a version of birchermuesli, sometimes with apples and frozen raspberries or with homemade rhubarb jam. I love the raw oats and yogurt together.
    🙂

    • eatrundesign says:

      Oh, cereal is a great stand by too! Yum, with coconut milk? What a lovely idea. I will have to try that sometime with my cereal.
      I love new breakfast ideas, gives me something to look forward to when i wake up 🙂

  3. Vincci says:

    Looks delicious! I’ve never been able to really get into oatmeal (though I did wake up every morning in freshman year of university to two packages of the instant stuff…) but those overnight oats sound great!

Leave a Reply

