{Our weekend mountain getaway in Kimberley, BC}

Is it Monday already? Hope everyone had a good weekend 🙂

On Friday night after work, we escaped the city and drove out to Kimberley, BC for a nice weekend away at my company’s cabin with a couple of our friends. What was supposed to be a 4 hour drive turned into a 5 and a half hour drive due to bad highway conditions, low visibility due to snow storms and a huge delays caused by construction. But we eventually made it!

Me and the boy spent the majority of Saturday snowboarding while basking in the sunshine. The weather was perfect and the ski hill was practically empty…here is a view from the top of the hill – clear skies and above zero temperatures 🙂

I was a bit nervous since it my first time out in over a year, but I definitely fared much better than I thought I would 🙂

After a couple of hours on the hill, we refueled with some lunch at the lodge at the bottom of the hill. We started off with a couple of spicy caesars with pickled asparagus (one of my favourite cocktail bevies). The boy warmed up with this hearty bowl of chili topped with melted gooey cheese and a dinner roll on the side..

I went with the California salad – a mountain of mixed greens, crunchy and juicy red grapes, sunflower seeds, cherry tomatoes, dried cranberries, shredded carrot and a huge dollop of cottage cheese in the center. I cleaned this plate up! This was just what I was craving after our sad dinner the night before which consisted of chips and salsa (we got in super late on Friday night and were too lazy to whip something up).

For dinner, I made a asian-themed dinner to celebrate the Chinese New Year

We started with a Momofuku-inspired dish of steamed buns..but instead of pork belly, I stuffed the fluffy shell-shaped buns with tender slices of flavourful char siu (a Cantonese roasted barbeque pork), a couple of pieces of chinese sausage, hoisin sauce and julienned cucumber and scallions for some freshness to contrast the succulent meats.

I pre-cooked the buns in my make-shift steamer and they turned out perfect! (a large colander over a big pot of boiling water and topped with a lid).  I will definitely be making these bun-wiches for a get-together in the future. They kinda looked like a chinese version of a slider.

Next up was our main course. I wanted to make something that would be easy to eat while lounging on the couch watching some TV, so I came up with this BBQ pork udon noodle stirfry.

I started by cooking up a chopped red onion and some scallions in a bit of oil, then added a few handfuls of chopped up bundles of crisp baby bok choy.

I set the veggies aside then cooked up my chopped up char siu and chinese sausage with some of the char siu marinade..

In another large pan, I boiled up 4 single serving packages of udon noodles for about 3 min in water then added this to the pan with all the other ingredients and stir-fried this together on high heat with a homemade marinade (black bean sauce, sesame oil, mushroom stir-fry sauce, minced ginger and chinese chili garlic spice).

The boys had their meals with ice-cold beers, while us ladies sipped glasses of one of my favourite reds, this 2006 Zenato Ripassa Valpolicella.

I made sure not to get too full since I was looking forward to consuming these beautiful pastry delights..

A giant wedge of traditional apple strudel from the local German bakery in town..

..a lightly glazed strudel jacket made up of paper-thin layers of crisp dough wrapped around a mouth-watering filling of perfectly tender chunks of apples and spice…We heated these in the oven and enjoyed this while sitting around the warm glow of the fireplace...

On Sunday, we went out for a nice stroll around our resort and the ski hill then headed into the town for some lunch before heading back home.. The main square or Platzl is pedestrian plaza in the heart of downtown Kimberley. The street, (which was no longer than a couple blocks in length) was lined with quaint little shops, cafes and German eateries built with Bavarian-inspired architecture..,

We walked by this famous clock – the largest freestanding cuckoo clock in North America. Apparently when it was functioning, you could pop in a quarter and enjoy a little show..

Most of the shops were closed on Sunday, but we found an eclectic little cafe called the Bean Tree to satisfy our hunger.. A really fun “hippy” space decorated with colourful mismatched vintage furniture and walls adorned with paintings by local artists. I warmed up with this After Eight coffeea blend of espresso, chocolate and peppermint and topped with a generous cloud of whipped cream and chocolate syrup. This.was.amazing. and yes, it tasted as good as it looks, if not better.

For lunch I went with a Montreal-style sesame bagel topped with cream cheese, thinly sliced red onion, capers and petals of smoked salmon.

This has got to the one of the best ways to enjoy a bagel…

I couldn’t resist getting this GIANT cookie which I spotted cooling on the counter, still slightly warm from the oven. This 1/2 pound cookie was loaded with large chocolate chips, diced chewy dried apricot and chopped walnuts. This reminded me of the famous Levain Bakery cookies I had in NYC – really hearty and chock-full of yummy add-ins. I only managed to eat about 1/3 of this beast in the car before I admitted defeat.

The boy went with a classic lunch combo with this large spinach wrap filled with lots of veggies and slices of real turkey alongside a bowl of their gypsy vegetable soup – a minestrone tomato-based broth swimming with chunks of multi-coloured vegetables.

After lunch, we parted ways with our friends and headed back onto the highway to go home..but not before making a stop at the Radium Hot Springs for a nice dip to ease our achy muscles..

We waded about the warm steamy waters surrounded by this beautiful snowy scenery..

The perfect end to a fun-filled weekend..

Comments
12 Responses to “{Our weekend mountain getaway in Kimberley, BC}”
  1. What a fabulous getaway! Love everything- the food, the snow, the photography- gorgeous!

  2. Tony says:

    Great Blog, could almost taste the food!! A lady after my own heart; snow, food & drinks, what a great mix! I’m new to blogging but I did a couple of foodie pieces for our accommodation business here in Kimberley, not quite as tasty as yours though but enjoy sharing my passion of our special part of the world.

    The skiing was great on Saturday, I skied with my family and the weather was just perfect. We had another 3″ over night and more forecast for today so you must try and get down next weekend, it’s going to be even better.

    • Hi Tony, Thanks so much for your kind words 🙂

      I checked out your blog, there are some tasty looking items in there (like at The Village Bistro) and I love that you go into detail about the background and owners. Great posts!

      Everyone was so friendly at the ski hill when we went on Sat, met lots of people from Cranbrook (so lucky to live only 1/2 hour away). We’ll definitely try to get back up there soon, I think we’re planning on going to a couple of new hills this month like Marmot in Jasper and Revelstoke.

  3. Babygirl says:

    WOW, you always have some of the most amazing adventures and the most amazing foods displayed on your blog. I love the pork stir-fry and that chili looks amazing. And don’t get me started on the dessert lol. Wonderful post.

  4. Tatiana says:

    I’m drooling over the buns… oh so good. And I recall a dinner at that restaurant in Kimberley, it was pretty solid German inspired food, perfect after skiing. Nice getaway!

  5. Leah says:

    Such a fun weekend! A glorious combination of local German yummies and Chinese New Year treats!!

  6. Laina says:

    Hi! I’m so intrigued to make your momofuku style buns! They look delicious! Just wondering where you purchased those mini-bun shells? Or did you make them? Thanks!

    • I just bought them at an asian market in the frozen section 🙂 You could also make you own if you like, but the frozen are convenient in a pinch. Just steam them yourself in a bambook steamer over a wok following the package directions and they’re good to go!

      • Laina says:

        Sweet thanks! I will give that a try! I think I would rather just steam from frozen rather than making myself 😉 By the way, I have just came across your blog recently and absolutely love it! Enjoy following your food/marathon journey and you have inspired us to make our next trip Paris! My absolute favourite city that I’ve only been briefly to once! Looking forward to hearing of your adventures 🙂

      • Thank you so much for your kind words. I started this blog as a whim as record of my recipes for myself. An absolute bonus to hear readers enjoy it too 🙂

        Yes!! Paris is so amazing! So glad to hear, it really is a magical city.

Leave a Reply

