{Sweet fix: The little yellow house in Mission}

My go-to bakery of the moment is Yann Patisserie. Although they are best known for their vividly coloured macarons. It was their viennoiserie that I was interested in today..

Like this classic beignet (french for “fried dough”) a pastry similar to a doughnut, rolled in cinnamon, nutmeg and sugar and filled with a decadent pastry cream..

When I took a bite of this, I declared this to be the BEST doughnut I’ve ever had..

A soft and springy yeasted dough wrapped in a crisp sugary envelope. Biting into this reminded me of our annual Stampede (those unmistakable mini donut trucks) elevated to a whole other level…

Next was the pain aux raisins. A classic sweet puff pastry swirled with layers of aromatic cinnamon and plump raisins.

I was a bit disappointed with this one. The texture was unusual – doughy, chewy and tough and almost stale tasting. It’s too bad because I really enjoy their croissant aux amandes which are perfectly crisp and flaky. Something that was lacking in this one.

Of course I can’t go to a patisserie that specializes in macarons without trying a few of them. Today’s flavours included pistachio, passionfruit chocolate and their feature flavour – carrot.

I loved how the colours complimented each other..

The carrot was dusted with a touch of copper luster dust…

*chomp*

Verdict? I have tried their macarons before and still think they are a tad on the dry side. The flavours are good, but in the end, I think I still prefer the ones at the Kingsland Farmers Market over these.

What can I say, I was tempted by their beautiful colours..

I will however be returning to get my hands on one of their croissant aux amandes (they were sold out when I arrived)..

Yea..that one..

Comments
5 Responses to “{Sweet fix: The little yellow house in Mission}”
  1. foodtable says:

    These look heavenly and the beignets look much different than the ones I had in New Orleans.

  2. OlieAndBread says:

    this is a delicious torture 🙂

  3. Chrissy says:

    Great post- since our trip to France this summer I’ve been craving French pastries, especially macarons!

Leave a Reply

