{Dining in: Vanilla bean brown butter puffed rice squares and szechuan duck confit stew}

I woke up early this morning with a hankering for rice krispie squares..With me, once I get a craving, it does NOT go away until it is satisfied..and so I bring you my vanilla bean brown butter puffed rice squares.

I slipped on my fluffy pink robe, rubbed my tired eyes and got to work..

I heated 2 tbsp of my homemade vanilla bean honey whipped butter (butter, vanilla bean paste, raw honey whipped in Kitchenaid) in a wok and heated it up slowly till it got nice and golden. I then added about half a bag of large marshmallows to the bubbly caramelized butter..

Yum..just look at those flecks of aromatic vanilla. Stir until all the marshmallows are nicely melted and forms one large puffy cloud..

Take the wok off the heat and add in about 3 cups of brown puffed rice (or rice krispies) to the marshmallow butter mixture until every grain is coated in sweet sticky goodness. Press into a glass dish with a spatula nice and evenly..

To make it extra decadent..I put a couple tbsp of dark chocolate dreams (a chocolate peanut butter aka best thing ever) into a dish and popped it into the microwave for 30 sec. Add in a splash of almond milk to thin it out to a frosting like consistency..

Spread this over the top of your squares. Wait to cool..

Or if you’re impatient like me, immediately cut into 9 squares and begin to snack away happily on the couch alongside a large cup of japanese genmaicha tea while watching the morning news..I tell you, there is no candle out there that can replicate the smell of your house when you make this..

Craving satisfied.

After two hours of back-to-back classes at the gym tonight, I quickly rushed home eagerly anticipating the szechuan duck confit stew I cooked long and slow overnight..

To complete the meal, I chopped up some asparagus spears..

..and a bunch of crisp broccolini to make a quick stirfry.

Seasoned with a miso paste, soy, sesame oil and rice wine vinegar and cooked till just tender.

On the side, a nice citrus salad. It starts with cutting up a small blood orange into half moons..

to go atop a mound of fresh pea shoots..

..lightly dressed in honey ginger white wine vinaigrette. The simple salad was crisp and refreshing, making it a nice contrast to the hearty and rich stew.

and now, the star of the meal…the duck confit stew.

When I pulled the bones out of the pot, the succulent duck meat just fell right off with no effort at all..just like a tender pulled pork..

The timbale of sweet brown rice and quinoa was perfect for absorbing all those full-bodied meaty flavours. Melt-in-your-mouth chunks of duck meat swimming in a thick sauce of shallots, creamy potato chunks and back bacon..

Oh my..I’m getting hungry all over again just looking at this..

All together now..

If you have not tried making duck confit at home. Please do! I promise you won’t regret it 🙂

I did not really measure my ingredients, but I drew inspiration from this recipe here

Szechuan duck confit (serves 2)

  • 1 package of 4 duck confit drumettes marinated in szechuan sauce (from Green Eggs & Ham farm in Edmonton) – I found this at Bite Groceteria, but also available at the Kingsland Farmers Market
  • chicken stock
  • juice of one blood orange
  • hoisin sauce
  • tamari (or soy sauce)
  • sesame oil
  • chinese 5 spice powder
  • star anise
  • minced ginger and garlic
  • 2 large shallots, chopped and caramelized
  • 1/4 cup of chopped back bacon – seared till crisp
  • 2 small red potatoes, chopped
  • handful of pink peppercorns

Cook up the shallots and back bacon in a dutch oven or large heavy pot till it starts to brown. Then add the rest of the ingredients. Pour in enough chicken stock till it covers the duck completely. Bring to a boil, then reduce the heat to med-low till it simmers and cover with a lid. Cook over a period of 3-4 hours till the meat falls off the bone. Make sure the duck is submerged in the liquid. *You can also cook this in a slow cooker*

When it’s done the sauce should have reduced, if you’d like it thicker, add in a starch slurry (1 tbsp of cornstarch and 1 tbsp of water) and add it the simmering stew. Serve over a quinoa pilaf or egg noodles.

Bon appetit 🙂

Comments
3 Responses to “{Dining in: Vanilla bean brown butter puffed rice squares and szechuan duck confit stew}”
  1. Tatiana says:

    I’m drooling looking at it too! You eat better than just about anyone I’ve met, and have very creative and great looking meals.

Leave a Reply

