{5 tasty eats I’m lovin lately…}

#1. The red velvet cupcakes from one of my favourite local bakeries, Bliss & Co..

Moist and fluffy chocolate cake topped with a thick and creamy cloud of cream cheese frosting…the perfect single serving treat when I get hit with those chocolate cake cravings..

#2. The same bakery also makes my favourite pies in the city..but don’t just take my word for it. Avenue Magazine just recently voted their pies as one of the 25 best things to eat in Calgary..

Pictured here are my favourite flavours, the classic apple and mango peach..

Seriously, the best pie crust I’ve ever tasted. So perfectly tender, flaky and crisp. It’s the kind of dessert that once you have a bite, you don’t want to share it with anyone.

I love the rustic homemade look of them…you can tell these are made with love..

Filled to the brim with large chunks of tender and perfectly sweet fruit..it’s like summer in every bite..No icky cornstarch fillings here..

Incredibly delicious and terribly addictive..They are also available as a 9″ double crust pie if you feel so inclined..

#3. This gorgeous golden flat bread at the Kingsland Farmers Market from the folks at Banuka Bakery

Like a fluffy round comforter with its quilt-like patterns studded with yummy sliced green olive “buttons”..

#4 The chocolate goji berry macaroons from Basic Roots (also from the Kingland Farmers Market). Little nuggests of superfood bliss! A combination of rich dark cacao powder and paste with goji berries, cacao nibs and chewy shredded coconut for a decadent yet healthy sweet treat.

Jam packed full of raw natural ingredients and sweetened with maple syrup…

Once you try these, I guarantee you won’t want to go back to the regular ol’ macaroon.. A dessert that is also good for you!? How can you go wrong..

#5 Lastly, a confection that brings me back to my childhood..sesame daifuku mochi balls. I found a package of 6 of these in the oriental section at Superstore..

Daifuku are round japanese rice cake dumplings made of glutinous rice and stuffed with a sweet filling..

These are filled with a sesame paste and rolled in a mixture of black and white sesame seeds..Other popular flavours include peanuts, red bean paste, taro and even green tea.

A powder dusted exterior surrounding a soft and chewy layer of mochi, they’re perfect eaten on their own or atop a scoop of ice cream..

Interested in making your own? You can find a base recipe here and fill them with your choice of filling.

Comments
4 Responses to “{5 tasty eats I’m lovin lately…}”
  1. The flatbread looks great! I love olives. I like the mochi too, but it’s so chewy I often feel like I’m going to choke! Yikes!

  2. The Teenage Taste says:

    Jeez, I’m seriously drooling over here! Everything looks so good, especially those red velvet cupcakes…yum!

Leave a Reply

