{Recipe: Still craving that Lotus Bowl..}

Last night on my walk home from the gym, I found myself craving that Lotus Bowl from Koi that I had earlier this week..

But rather than going out and spending $15 at the restaurant. I stopped by the market to pick up a block of tofu for $2.50 and worked with what I had at home to recreate the dish..

I started by mixing together chinese 5 spice powder and black sesame seeds in a bowl..

Mixed together..

and coated each side of the baton of tofu (I cut up a block of firm tofu into about 16 batons). I baked these in the oven at 400F for about 15 minutes and then finished them off by searing them in a pan to get the outside nice and crispy.

Next I started on my veggies..1/2 a large onion and 3 cloves of garlic cooked in a bit of olive oil..

Add in your veggies of choice, tonight’s mix were some carrots, snap peas, orange bell pepper, crimini mushrooms, broccolini (love this stuff lately) and water chestnuts.

Stir-fry them together along with a couple tbsp of maple syrup, 1 tbsp garlic chili sauce (found in asian section), 2 tbsp of tamari/soy sauce, 1 tbsp of toasted sesame oil, 1 tbsp of rice vinegar and about a tsp of minced ginger.

Meanwhile I toasted some raw almonds with a bit of raw honey in a pan till caramelized and added this to the veggie mixture at the end.

Serve atop a bed of cooked brown rice along with the tofu sticks (and a drizzle of sriracha, cause I LOVE hot sauce!). Sprinkle on some chopped green onion and pea shoots if you fancy.

Bon appetit 🙂

Comments
2 Responses to “{Recipe: Still craving that Lotus Bowl..}”
  1. What is this Chinese 5 spice of which you speak? That sounds like something I can use. Love your tofu techinque! I usually pan fry mine with ginger, coriander, salt and pepper, but yours looks better.

Leave a Reply

