{Dining in: Creamy avocado spaghettini w/ black garlic}

Hey everyone,

I was MIA this weekend, busy with my training (Calgary Policeman’s Half coming up here quick) and catching up on errands and house cleaning. But I’ll get back into the swing of things this week and recap our eats this weekend in a post tonight.

This post is gonna be a quick one. I wanted to share with you a recipe I’ve been wanting to try for a while inspired by Angela at ohsheglows. I came home late last night after a double class at the gym and was craving some carbs. So I decided to make a pasta dish for dinner.

The star ingredient: avocado.

Did you know avocado is packed full of nutrients and healthy fats. They’re a source of iron, potassium (twice the amount of a banana), magnesium and copper. They’re also high in fiber and have high levels of antioxidants. They’re a powerhouse of health.

I started by boiling up some spaghettini in salted water. While that was cooking away, I started on the sauce.

Here’s what you need:

  • 1 avocado
  • 1/4 cup grated grana padano or parmesan
  • juice of one lemon
  • a few sundried tomatoes
  • few cloves of black garlic (regular garlic would work well too)
  • salt and pepper

Blend these all together in your food processor along with a bit of pasta water till smooth.

Stir this into the drained pasta along with a chopped roma tomato, fresh basil and steamed asparagus, chopped. Top with more grated cheese and you’re done!

Creamy, rich and satisfying without any cream or milk.

The flavours are fresh and bright and I finished dinner without that heavy feeling you normally get from a creamy pasta. I’ll definitely be adding this one to my regular cooking repetoire.

Comments
3 Responses to “{Dining in: Creamy avocado spaghettini w/ black garlic}”
  1. foodtable says:

    This looks delish!

Leave a Reply

