{Dining in: Apple Ginger Dutch Baby Pancake for one}

I have a confession. I am NOT a morning person.

So as an incentive for me to wake up, I change up my breakfast regularly to give me a reason to pop out of my bed before I hit the snooze for the 3rd time.

This week I tried something I’ve never made before..a Dutch Baby Pancake.

Also known as a german pancake, a bismarck or a dutch puff. It’s a sweet breakfast dish similar to a Yorkshire pudding made with eggs, flour and milk and seasoned with vanilla and cinnamon. From there you can add yummy toppings to customize it to your taste.

Today I was craving apples..so after slicing them into half moons, I gently caramelized in a pan with some honey, orange zest, freshly grated ginger and cardamom till they were nice and golden.

While those were cooking away, I mixed up a batter of eggs, milk, flour, sugar, salt and vanilla extract and poured this over my caramelized apples. Bake this in a 400F oven for 20 minutes (this is the point where I get ready for work or watch some morning news with my cup of genmaicha tea).

When its done, sprinkle the top lightly with confectioners sugar. Voila! A gourmet breakfast for one. Gorgeously rustic and ridiculously simple.

The pancake is soft, fluffy and custardy. Denser and cakier than a regular pancake and completely satisfying.

I enjoyed mine fresh out of the oven with some tangy and thick goat’s yogurt with a drizzle of maple syrup and topped with lightly toasted walnuts.

It’s the perfect way to treat yourself in the morning 🙂

Do try it yourself. You can sub in fresh berries, peaches, pears or even make it savoury with ham and cheese – whatever your palette desires.

Apple Ginger Dutch Baby Pancake (adapted from Martha Stewart) – makes one giant pancake

  • 1 tablespoons butter
  • 1 macintosh apple, cored and sliced 1/2” thick
  • 1 tbsp honey (add more if you like it sweeter)
  • 2 tsp freshly grated ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon fresh-ground cardamom
  • 2 tsp lemon or orange zest
  • 3 eggs
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. In a roughly 10” oven-proof skillet,* over medium-high heat. Melt the butter, and then saute the apples. Cook the apples for about 4 minutes, until they have softened and absorbed the butter. Add the honey, ginger, cardamom, and zest. Remove from heat and set aside while you prepare the batter.

In a medium bowl combine the eggs, milk, flour, vanilla and salt. Whisk the batter briefly until it is smooth. Pour the batter over the apples.

Place the skillet in the oven and bake for 25 – 30 minutes. Carefully remove the pancake (if you dare) to a platter. Sprinkle with confectioners sugar, slice, and serve.

Bon Appetit.

Comments
3 Responses to “{Dining in: Apple Ginger Dutch Baby Pancake for one}”
  1. You sound exaclty like me in the morning! I cannot get up and I dread a boring breakfast. Love this recipe, though. It could certainly get me motivated to get out of bed!

  2. Tatiana says:

    I am SO not a morning person, that even a breakfast like this would not get me out of bed – I hop out with minimum time required to go to work. I usually eat at my desk as I’d rather sleep than wake up for breakfast. I have never made a dutch pancake though, so it may be a fun weekend project if I ever need a change from pancakes.

    • Haha, well its great to hear that there are others out there who share my dislike for getting up in the morning 🙂 Yes, sometimes I just give in and sleep that extra half an hour to get as much shut eye as I can too and just eat at work.

Leave a Reply

