{Delicious finds from Bite Groceteria}

A casual stroll in Inglewood brought me to one of my favourite foodie shops, Bite Groceteria.

I can never seem to leave empty-handed, but I have to admit, browsing through this store always gets my creative juices flowing in the kitchen..

Here are a few goodies I picked up at my last visit this past weekend..

If you’re a mustard connoisseur, you MUST try Brassica mustards. Best.Mustard.Ever.

This is not the neon yellow stuff you find at your local hot dog stand. These are gourmet artisan spreads made with Canadian harvest mustard seeds created by chef and owner, Desmond Johnston (former executive chef of one of my go-to restaurants, The Living Room).

They come in a variety of yummy flavours including: roasted garlic, horseradish, dill and my favourite of the bunch, the cranberry honey!

I first discovered this awhile back as an accompaniment on a charcuterie board at The Living Room and I’ve been hooked ever since.

It’s perfect with a nice aged cheese and salty cured meats, as a crust on lamb chops, mixed in a vinaigrette on a summery green salad or glazed over tender roasted duck breast. A staple in my fridge at all times 🙂

The horseradish or garlic mustard adds a nice zing to a Caesar..really! Don’t doubt till you try it.

They come in a nice sampler pack with all four flavours in 60ml bottles (makes a great gift from the Prairies).

Next droolworthy item..Bite’s housemade milk jam (or confiture de lait), the French version of dulce de leche. Made from boiling and simmering whole milk, vanilla and sugar till it reduces into this luscious and creamy caramel like consistency.

You can use it as a filling in cakes, sandwiched between butter cookies, drizzled over ice cream, mixed with whipped cream for eclairs, sweeten your coffee or tea or as a dip for fresh fruit. The possibilities are endless.

My vehicle of choice for this yummy spread? Jenna’s perfectly moist peanut butter quick bread. The pairing of salty crunchy peanuts and rich caramel flavour = winning taste combination.

I gobbled this up within seconds of taking this photo..watching the thick and gooey milk jam as it slowly flowed down the sides of the cake was delicious torture.

The last item I picked up was a small bag of this pale green bamboo rice. Short grains of white rice combined with the juice of young bamboo juice, a process that gives the rice an earthy and grassy flavour reminiscent of jasmine green tea. It cooks up moist and sticky, almost like a sushi rice.

Tonight I used it for a “whatever I have in the fridge” asian sticky rice.

I cooked it up like a regular rice recipe and combined it with the following:

  • chinese sausage
  • leftover shredded chicken
  • carrots
  • asparagus
  • broccolini
  • garlic
  • onion
  • zucchini

A filling and satisfying post-workout dinner with a nice balance of carbs, veggies and protein. There’s something about stir fried rice I find very comforting. Perhaps this goes back to my childhood when my mom used to make this for me.

I reserved a third of the cooked rice to make a yummy dessert for tomorrow: Bamboo rice pudding with coconut milk and caramelized ginger pineapple and toasted pine nuts.

Tune in for the recipe..

Comments
3 Responses to “{Delicious finds from Bite Groceteria}”
  1. foodtable says:

    Never heard of bamboo rice before. Very interesting…

  2. OMG, that milk jam sounds amazing.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] I’d suggest to serve it with some grilled fish and some nutty, brown rice (actually, this bamboo rice that Jen found looks absolutely precious) for a healthy, balanced […]



Leave a Reply

