{My weekend eats & a deliciously simple flatbread}

After watching a full week of “Breakfast Television’s Burger Battle” in the mornings while I get ready for work, me and the boy were itching for a burger and milkshake at the newly crowned winner, Boogie’s Burgers.

Unfortunately, as we turned into the driveway, we were welcomed with an “Out of buns” sign outside their door with a couple of sad “smiley faces” decorated on either side.

As we walked in, we noticed the grill and fryer were being cleaned and they told us that they had run out about half an hour ago. Shucks. Luckily, they were NOT out of their ingredients for their thick and creamy milkshakes, so me and the boy each got one. I ordered the Young Elvis (peanut butter and banana) and the boy had his go-to flavour, strawberry.

We left with smiling faces 🙂

As we stepped back into the car, we both looked at each other and agreed that we needed our burger craving to be satisfied. So we took the long drive down to Deerfoot Meadows to the hyped Five Guys Burgers and Fries, a company from Arlington, Virginia that has been cooking up patties since 1986. It’s hard to ignore their huge list of awards proudly displayed on their walls.

We arrived at about 8pm and the lineup was almost out the door! NOW I understand why they have those self-serve bulk peanuts while you wait..

The line moved pretty quick and it was cool how you could actually watch your burger being grilled up right before your eyes (the complete opposite of most fast food chains). Their “we have nothing to hide” attitude and the fact that they cook each handmade patty made to order complete with your choice of toppings for free is probably what make this place so popular.

Oh yea, and they have free refills too.

We both went with the classic cheeseburger. Uh.. yea, not your typical cheeseburger you would get at your ordinary fast food spot. This one was a MONSTER. As I lifted the baseball-sized foil wrapped burger out the paper bag, I felt a bit intimidated. What I didn’t realize was their regular burger is actually TWO patties. Ay carumba…

Topped with the works (minus mayo). This beast was incredibly messy to eat, but pretty tasty. Moist juicy beef (no freezers in this place) and bountiful toppings. My only complaint is that my bun got quite soggy by the time I got through half. But that was probably my fault for getting everything on it. Next time I’ll definitely tone down on the fixins’ and probably go with the one patty. I know.. I’m a sissy.

I finished this all minus two bites. So in the words of Adam Richman: “In the battle of man vs. food…food won”.

The fries here were equally delicious. Crisp exterior, fluffy and steaming hot on the inside. Perfect simply doused with vinegar, ketchup not necessary (unless you really like that stuff). A pretty good value since they give you the container of fries then toss in another container full in the bag with each order. Kind of like a buy one get one free kind of deal.

If you love burgers and you haven’t tried this place out, bring your appetite and lots of napkins. 

Five Guys Burgers and Fries: #222 33 Heritage Meadows Way SE  |  (403) 252-3373

On Sunday, we headed out for our weekly visit to the Farmers Market. After watching the boy enjoy his bagelwich from Wayne’s Bagels last week, I knew I had to try one out for myself.

This one was their Veggie Delight: a toasted Montreal-style everything bagel filled with lettuce, tomatoe, red onion, red pepper and a generous smear of velvety cream cheese. Served with a side of crispy ridged chips.

Dee-lish. Just what I was craving after my workout at the gym. These bagels are perfectly dense and chewy. I’ll definitely be picking up a bag of these next week, they’d make an amazing breakfast with a pat of creamery butter or your favourite jam.

After lunch, I shopped around with the boy for things that caught my fancy. I don’t normally plan out a list when I go shopping, going more for a laid back approach of picking up whatever entices me to dictate my meals for the week (staying within budget of course).

A couple highlights from our trip: this bag full of these sweet “pop in your mouth” juicy pesticide-free grape tomatoes and an aromatic bouquet of dill.

A block of my FAAAAVOURITE cheese of the moment, this 2009 Grand Prix winning Old Grizzly from Sylvan Star Cheese (from Red Deer, Alberta). A sharp extra aged old gouda, aged for over a year to create its rich nutty and creamy smooth texture.

As well as this Woolrich Dairy Farm Chevrai – a  traditional rich and creamy cheese made from fresh goat’s milk. It has a light, tangy taste with a smooth finish. (2009 first place winner at the Wisconsin State Fair).

After the gym tonight, I whipped up an easy dinner that took less than 20 minutes from start to finish. On the menu tonight: A proscuitto and arugula flatbread w/ grape tomatoes, goat cheese and grizzly gouda.

I started by pureeing a large clove of garlic on my ceramic ginger grater. Ever find it hard to get all those yummy bits out of the ridges? Cover the grater in plastic wrap before grating, just slide off the garlic and voila – less mess for you.

Next I pulled out a couple of coriander and herb naan from the freezer, rubbed them with the garlic and heated them on a baking sheet 400F for about 6 minutes. Remove from oven and layer on the toppings and bake for another 6 minutes.

  • Paper thin shavings of salty proscuitto
  • A handful of baby arugula
  • Grape tomatoes (cut in half)
  • Slices of goat cheese
  • Shredded Old Grizzly Gouda
  • Ground Pepper
I finished these off with a sprinkling of chiffonade basil and cut each into fours. We enjoyed our dinner while watching season one episodes of the seriously addictive Breaking Bad on DVD. LOVE this show.

Those bitefuls of melty goat cheese were bliss.

A simple dish that really lets the ingredients shine through. Do try your own variation with YOUR favourite ingredients 🙂 Bon appetit!

Comments
One Response to “{My weekend eats & a deliciously simple flatbread}”
  1. that naan pizza thing looks amazing….although I did pause on that cheeseburger for more than a second on my way down 😉 looks like a food filled weekend!

Leave a Reply

