{Foodie treats and a recipe inspired by my new favourite cookbook}

This past weekend I popped into the Cookbook Cooks Co. to browse around…What was supposed to be some innocent window shopping ended up being a $80 purchase.

Oy vey.

I have as little willpower in the food stores as I do at Lululemon..they get me every time.

Here are some of the goodies that caught my eye..

This box of Vosges Mo’s Uncured Bacon Caramel Toffee...yes, it’s as good as it sounds. Buttery, salty, sweet, smoky, crunchy and creamy all in one. This is a pricey little guy, so definitely an indulgence (like their amazing chocolate bars). This would make an awesome gift too 🙂

If you like chocolate and you haven’t tried Vosges yet, go out and give it a try! Their “couture” chocolate comes in really unique flavours inspired by flavours from around the world and the highest quality ingredients. One of my favourites is their Naga Exotic Bar with sweet indian curry, coconut and 41% dark milk chocolate.

I picked this little guy up at the counter as I was paying for my goods..A mini tin of Maldon sea salt flakes..You know for those bland food emergencies?…For sprinkling on a chocolate brownie or ice cream..

Ok.. I bought it cause it was so cute and small.

About the size of my lip gloss. Not sure when I’ll use it, but it’s in my purse in case I do.

My most exciting purchase was this new cookbook I’ve had my eye on while it was still on pre-order on Amazon. Yotam Ottolenghi’s Plentyvibrant vegetable recipes from London’s Ottolenghi.

A collection of honest and inventive recipes inspired by the flavours of the Mediterranean with vegetables as the main star. The perfect addition to my overflowing shelf of cookbooks, a great way to celebrate all the new produce popping up at the Farmer’s Market.

There are gorgeous full-page pictures for every recipe (which I love! I can’t stand those books with only a few pictures).

I’m getting hungry already..

With renewed inspiration, I whipped myself a quick salad for lunch the other day…A roasted beet, avocado fennel salad with creamy goat’s feta.

The key is to slice the fennel super thin (use a mandolin if you have one).

I dressed this with the juice of one small orange and a drizzle of fruity extra virgin olive oil. Season with salt and pepper and that’s it!

Simple, quick, fresh and delicious. The beets are rich in iron and a great detoxifier. The fennel adds a slightly bitter anise flavour that paired beautifully with the sweet beets, creamy crumbles of cheese and the citrusy tang of the dressing.

I can’t wait to try out many more recipes from this book this summer..stay tuned.. 

Comments
6 Responses to “{Foodie treats and a recipe inspired by my new favourite cookbook}”
  1. henrietta chaplin says:

    Where can I buy the Maldon sea salt flake tin from?
    Thank you!

  2. HK Epicurus says:

    Hi Chocolate and Ginger!

    I am looking desperately in vain for that small Maldon Sea Salt case, as my friend had lost it yesterday when we were at a food tasting and I borrowed her salt :(((

    Do u mind letting me know if it is still avail and where please? Thanks so much ! : ) I am in Hong Kong though arghhh!! Cheers, K.

Leave a Reply

