{Dining in: Halibut en Papillote and Strawberry Rhubarb Tartlets}

Today was a scorcher, probably the hottest day this year, combined with the dewpoint it felt like 34 celsius today. That may not sound high to some of you who are used to getting high 30s (or 40s) in the summer time, but for a city that is used to wintery temperatures pretty much 9 months of the year, this is HOT!

Tonight after the gym, I put together a quick and effortless dinner for me and the boy: Halibut en papillote.

I defrosted a beautiful vacuum packed filet I got from my mom (it was caught a couple of weeks ago in the northwest tip of Victoria Island). I seasoned the filet with some cajun seasoning, herbs de provence, pepper, olive oil and juice of half a lemon. I lay the filets over a bed of zucchini batons and baby red potatoes (from the Hutterites at the Calgary Farmers Market).

Cut an 8×8 piece parchment, fold in half, cut a semi-circle and place the ingredients on one side. Fold over the top and crimp the edges so you have a nice seal to steam all those yummy flavours together.

Pop this into a 400F oven to bake. While that was cooking away, I got some laundry done and caught up on some emails After 15 minutes, dinner was ready – easy as that.

I served our juicy filets topped with a generous spoonful of chimichurri sauce (from MEEZ cuisine in Willowpark) a zesty and vibrant green sauce originating from Argentina. You can make also make your own with a recipe here.

On the side was a quick mango salsa (the Altaulfo variety – my fave), chopped sweet onion, cucumber, pepper and salt. (Oops..forgot to plate the potatoes..they were delicious though! Make sure you cut them into small chunks so they cook thoroughly in the short period of time).

Cooked to perfection.

For dessert, I made another really quick and easy recipe – Strawberry Rhubarb Tartlets.

I simply cut up a couple handfuls of strawberries, 2 small stalks of rhubarb and combined it with about a tbsp each of cornstarch, sugar and a drizzle of maple syrup in a bowl. 

Next I unrolled a sheet of store-bought puff pastry I had defrosted in the fridge the night before, cut it into 9 squares and spooned a couple tbsp into the middle of each square. folded in the edges and baked on a parchment lined cookie sheet at 375F for about 20 minutes.

If you want the edges nice and golden you can brush them with an egg wash before you bake (I forgot that step..but they still tasted dandy).

Fresh summery flavours inspired by the seasonal selections at the market. I topped this with a scoop of tangy goat’s yogurt, but this would be awesome with a scoop of a good ol’ vanilla ice cream too. Bon appetit!

Want a proper recipe? You can find it here at Julie’s blog.

Comments
2 Responses to “{Dining in: Halibut en Papillote and Strawberry Rhubarb Tartlets}”
  1. Tatiana says:

    I do something rather similar in tinfoil – little pouches of white fleshed fish sprinkled with lemon juice, tabasco, sea salt and topped with julienned bell peppers and mushrooms. And sometimes slivered garlic, although I typically serve them over rice.

Leave a Reply

