{Dining in: Garlic scape pesto feta potatoes and a Double Berry Rhubarb Crumble}

Garlic scapes are popping up all over the Farmers Markets right now.

What are they you ask? They’re curly green shoots that grow from garlic bulbs that have a distinct garlicky taste that is milder than garlic bulb. And my favourite way to use these are to make a garlic scape pesto (inspired by Dinner with Julie)

Its pretty simple:

  • A few handfuls of garlic scapes (chopped into pieces a couple of inches in length like below)
  • 3/4 cup of grated parmesan
  • handful of hazelnuts (can use walnuts or pine nuts too)
  • 1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil or canola
Put everything but the oil into the food processor and add the oil slowly in a stream till the mixture is nicely pureed. I then scooped this mixture and filled a rubber ice cube tray (you can find cheap ones at ikea) and fill them up and pop them in the freezer. After an hour or so, you can pop them out and put them into a freezer bag so you can use the pesto as needed in handy dandy portions.
Oh yea, and make sure you don’t use those ice cube trays for your ice..No one wants a garlicky ice cube in their drink. I keep 2 in the drawer exclusively for my pestos.

Next I boiled up a couple small bags of mini red potatoes. 2 bags for $5 from the Hutterites at the Calgary Farmers Market. Chop them up into halves and boil them in a pot of water (just enough to cover) till you can pierce them with a fork easily.

Drain the water then add your pesto to the hot potatoes to taste (I think I used about 1/4 cup) and toss together till every piece of potato is well coated. Next I added about 1/4 cup of crumbled feta (creamy and salty), a tbsp of hot dijon mustard, a splash of apple cider vinegar and a couple tbsp of chipotle bacon jam

Don’t have any bacon jam? You can sub in some homemade bacon bits too, though I’d recommend making it yourself. Please don’t buy that store-bought stuff. It’s just not the same.

Grind some black pepper and voila! Best. Potato Salad. Ever. You can add in some blanched green beans in here for some crunch too like Julie did.

I served my warm potato mixture atop a bed of crisp red oak lettuce. No need for dressing, the potatoes add a bounty of flavour. Oh yea, and they taste even BETTER the next day 🙂 A great make ahead dish for a get together or potluck. (Sorry for the sketchy iphone pic, by the time I found my camera, it was all gone!)

And of course with me, no meal is complete with ending with a sweet. So I present to you this unbelievably delicious Double Berry Rhubarb Crumble. What I love about crumbles is that they are super easy to make and they’re a great way to use up an excess of fruit in your fridge. 

In a bowl toss in your dry ingredients for the “crumble”. Flour, baking powder, brown sugar, turbinado sugar (like sugar in the raw – I bought mine bulk at Community Natural Foods) graham crumbs (my secret ingredient in a crumble topping), cinnamon and the zest of one lemon.

Add in your melted butter and stir together with a fork till it forms lumpy crumbs.

Next comes your filling. You can use any fruit you like. I just happened to have a pint of strawberries on its last legs, a few handfuls of raspberries and a whole lotta rhubarb. All in all I think this was about 3 cups of chopped fruit.

Put these into an 8×8 baking dish and toss them together with the juice of a lemon, sugar, corn starch and a pinch of salt. I also added about 5-6 cubes of chopped candied ginger and some of its syrup in to add another dimension of flavour.

Evenly distribute your crumble mixture over the top of the fruit and bake at 375F for 40-50 minutes. You’ll know its done when you house is filled with the lovely scent of fresh-baked pie.

What I love about this recipe is that it has a good ratio of crumble to fruit so you can get nice balance of the two in each bite. Those crispy golden parts on the top are my fave.

Being the impatient person I am, I scooped the hot mixture into a dish and topped it with a generous scoop of vanilla bean frozen yogurt.

Just let that creaminess melt into each biteful. Pure bliss I tell ya. I love the contrast of the crunchy and sweet crumble with the thick and juicy tender chunks of fruit.

I also made a couple small ramekins of crumble for my morning breakie..And cause I take any opportunity I can to use my Le Creuset mini cocottes.

Double Berry Rhubarb Crumble (adapted from Smitten Kitchen)

Yields 6 to 8 servings (I probably ate 3/4 of it to myself in a couple days)

For the topping:

  • 1 cup flour (I used 1/2 all purpose and 1/2 whole wheat pastry flour)
  • 1/3 cup of graham crumbs (make your own from crackers or buy them pre-crushed)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 3 tablespoons Demerara sugar (I used turbinado sugar)
  • Zest of one lemon
  • Pinch of cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted

For the filling:

  • 3 cups of fruit ( I used rhubarb, chopped into 1-inch pieces, strawberries and raspberries)
  • Juice of one lemon
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 tbsp ginger syrup and 5-6 pieces of candied ginger, minced (optional)
  • 3 tablespoons cornstarch
  • Pinch of salt

1. Heat oven to 375°F. Prepare topping: In a mixing bowl, combine flour, graham crumbs, baking powder, sugars, cinnamon and lemon zest and add the melted butter. Mix until small and large clumps form. Refrigerate until needed.

2. Prepare filling: Toss rhubarb, berries, lemon juice, sugar, ginger syrup, candied ginger, cornstarch and a pinch of salt in a 9-inch deep-dish pie plate. (I used an oval dish this time, because they fit better in the bottom of a shopping bag.)

3. Remove topping from refrigerator and cover fruit thickly and evenly with topping. Place pie plate on a (foil-lined, if you really want to think ahead) baking sheet, and bake until crumble topping is golden brown in places and fruit is bubbling beneath, about 40 to 50 minutes.

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
One Response to “{Dining in: Garlic scape pesto feta potatoes and a Double Berry Rhubarb Crumble}”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] my go-to recipe adapted from Smitten Kitchen, which has the perfect balance of crisp streusel crumb to fruit. I […]



Leave a Reply

