{Earl grey tea infused peach butter and a peach tart in an oatmeal cookie crust}

What better way to celebrate my 300th blog post than to feature my favourite fruit of all time. The peach.

Remember that giant box of late summer Red Haven peaches I told you I had bought in Creston, BC last weekend. Well, I think I got a little carried away because when I brought them home, my fridge was completely taken over with ripe peaches and I realized I had to find a way to make use of these juicy delights before they spoiled.

Solution: Earl Grey tea infused peach butter. 

Note: A fruit butter is somewhere in between a jam and a sauce. There is no actual “butter” in it, but I think it must refer to the thick and smooth texture. It has the concentrated flavour of a pate de fruit without being as sweet.

What I loved about this recipe, is that it used half the amount of sugar of typical fruit butter recipes or jams and it allowed the sweet ripe peaches to be the star of the show without the addition of unnecessary spices that can sometimes overwhelm the flavours of the fruit.

An easy way to skin your peaches? Blanch them for about 30 seconds in boiling water, then transfer them to a large bowl of ice water. The skins slide off with no effort at all 🙂

Slice the peaches in half with a knife, remove the pit and quarter. Or if you’re like me, just tear apart the peach with your fingers and crush them into a large pot, as if you were crushing whole tomatoes for a sauce. Plus it’s WAY more fun this way 🙂

That’s four pounds of peaches in there..

Simmer on med heat for about 15-20 minutes with 1 cup of water till the peaches have softened along with 3-4 bags of good quality Earl Grey tea. After they’re cooked, remove the tea bags and take your immersion blender (or pour into a blender) and puree till smooth. Careful on this step, don’t overfill the blender, you don’t want hot peach sauce splattering everywhere.

If using a blender, pour the peaches back into the pot, add the juice of one lemon and 2 cups of sugar and simmer on a gentle boil for another hour until the mixture has reduced to a thick sauce. Be sure to stir often especially during the second half of the cooking period to avoid scalding on the bottom of the pot. You’ll know the sauce is done when you coat the back of a spoon and it stays put.

My house smelled just like an orchard while this simmered on the stove. No candle or home fragrance spray could replicate this aromatic bouquet.

Allow the peach butter  to cool (unless you’re canning it), and store in airtight containers in the fridge which should keep for a couple of weeks. You could also freeze this and defrost in the winter when you are craving that sweet taste of summer.

I have been spreading a generous spoonful of this on my cranberry pecan toast along with raw almond butter. A dollop atop a creamy vanilla bean ice cream or tangy greek yogurt is divine. Stir it into your morning oatmeal or spread it on your french toast of waffles for a tasty breakfast treat.

These would be great as an accompaniment on a charcuterie board too. The uses are endless! And if you’re willing to part with them, they make great gifts too 🙂 You can find Deb’s original recipe here.

While the peach butter was simmering on the stove, I put together a dessert that came together in a pinch. A fresh peach tart in a cinnamon oatmeal cookie crust.

I mixed 2 cups of crushed oatmeal cookies (I smashed them in a plastic bag with a hammer on a cutting board..but you could use a food processor too!) with a pinch of cinnamon along with 1/4 cup of melted butter in a bowl and pressed this mixture into long rectangular tart pan. Bake in the oven at 375F and bake for about 10-12 minutes. Let the crust cool and then layers slices of peaches across the top (that have been tossed with some lemon juice to prevent browning. Wrap and refrigerate overnight and voila!

Cut into bite sized slices and share with friends. They are perfect for an afternoon tea or if you’re like me, enjoyed randomly throughout the day in between doing chores on a Sunday afternoon.

The crunchy and crisp texture of the crust was a nice contrast to the soft juicy flesh of the peaches. I think next time I’ll add in some toasted pecans or pistachios to switch it up. I loosely based my recipe off this one found here.

Speaking of fruit, here is that jar of vanilla pears I picked up at the Mission Hill Winery that I had mentioned in my previous post. I can’t wait to try this in a sauce on pork or ham or on my morning yogurt with some homemade granola.

I also picked up this bag of dark chocolate cabernet cherries. Dried Montmorency tart cherry enrobed in a smooth dark chocolate and the natural flavors of a powerful but balanced Cabernet wine.

A small handful of these have been a treat I’ve been enjoying after dinner this past week.

Another reason to be happy to be back in town on a weekend finally.. Going to our favourite brunch spot (Red’s Diner) to satisfy my pancake craving. A plate of 3 large and fluffy fresh blueberry buttermilk buckwheat pancakes with a side of whipped butter and maple syrup. And because that was not enough, I also got a side of Canadian Bacon. Yum.

The boy had the signature Red’s big breakfast. A sampler of everything including 3 eggs your way, bacon, breakfast sausage, Red’s potatoes and multigrain toast.

Oh. And for those of you who haven’t seen on my twitter updates. I am officially signed up for the 2012 Paris Marathon next April. And yes, I am BEYOND excited. Ever since our trip last October, I’ve been dreaming of my next trip to the City of Lights 🙂

Comments
10 Responses to “{Earl grey tea infused peach butter and a peach tart in an oatmeal cookie crust}”
  1. I love Red’s! Their sourdough cheese toast is the only way to go! And that peach butter, I think the best method of consumption is simply a big bowl and an even bigger spoon! Thanks for the recipes!!!

  2. Awww, this makes the sides of my mouth water.
    Sobe novi sad

  3. David says:

    That looks super tasty!

    Paris Marathon hey? That’s pretty sweet! That’s not the one with the wine stations right? Jealous!

    PS – are you running Melissa’s this year?

    • It’s not the one that has wine at every station (I think that one that goes through the vineyards). This one goes around the whole city starting at L’Arc de Triomphe. They will have wine, beer, cider and OYSTERS (barf! love it at happy hour..not on a run).

      YES! this will be my third year in a row running Melissa’s 🙂 Hopefully the wind isn’t as crazy this year, are you running?

      • David says:

        Yes! It’s my first year running it! I. Am. So. Excited! Maybe I’ll see you there.

        Oh man! That race sounds sweet! You should do a review on all the food stations!

      • Oh good for you! Best of luck to you! It’s my favourite run in Alberta for sure. Hopefully the wind is not as crazy as the years before. My cap has blow straight off my head both years.

        Yes for sure, I’ll be taking LOTS of pics at that Paris Marathon 🙂

  4. David says:

    That was definitely an amazing run! How’d you do? I’m so tired… gahhhh!

  5. Just found your blog… I’m a Calgarian as well… defs not a marathoner!! Lucky to make it to a spin class. Love your photos and peach butter. Brought back fond memories of the peaches I brought back from Vernon this summer:)

Leave a Reply

