{Recipe: Light as air banana cupcakes with salted caramel frosting}

Happy Saturday all!

It was a frosty looking day when I woke up this morning to go to the gym. I stayed over my mom’s place and enjoyed my pre-workout breakie (a slice of toasted cinnamon raisin toast along with a large mug of green tea) and watched the sunrise.

Beautiful, but oh so chilly…

So I have some good news! I FINALLY got rid of my barely functional car this weekend (the power steering was almost completely done) and am now a proud owner of a speedy new vehicle! Woo hoo, so happy that I can finally cross that off my 2011 goals list. As a bonus, it came with a remote control car starter, and for those of you familiar with Calgary winters, you can understand how they make this whole -30C situation here just a little more bearable 🙂

Anyways, today I thought I’d switch up the posts from my trip to San Fran and share a delicious recipe I made recently. Since my trip I’ve kind of become obsessed with salted caramel (totally having Bi-Rite ice cream withdrawals). And this springy and light-as-air banana cake makes the perfect base for the creamy and rich caramel frosting.

The key ingredient is a few heaping tablespoons of this deliciousness. A jar of burnt caramel sauce from Recchiuti at the Ferry Market in San Fran.

These cupcakes are mini, so it’s totally ok that I ate like 4 of these in one seating (or at least that’s what I tell myself). And they’re kind of like a banana bread so it’s perfectly acceptable as a breakfast too 🙂

I have to say frosting cupcakes is one of my favourite things to do when it comes to baking. Scooping a dollop of the thick and silky cloud-like mixture on my palette knife and smearing the across the top of each little cupcake..there’s just something about it that I find relaxing and calming. Is that weird? Probably.

And those little sprinkles on the top is vanilla infused salt. Because salt and caramel make such a lovely couple.

These cupcakes got the seal of approval from my co-workers and the boy. And they’re super easy to make (especially when you don’t have to make the caramel sauce from scratch), so do try them for yourself. You will not regret it.

Mini Banana Cupcakes with Salted Caramel Cream Cheese Frosting

(adapted from Bon Appetit)

Cupcakes:

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 very ripe large bananas, peeled
  • 1/2 cup goat’s/greek yogurt (can also use sour cream)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup sugar (I used brown sugar, all I had)
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 large egg yolk

Position rack in center of oven and preheat to 350°F. Line 12 standard (1/3-cup) muffin cups (I used a 24 mini muffin tray) with paper liners. Whisk flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in medium bowl to blend. Mash bananas with fork in another medium bowl until smooth. Mix yogurt and vanilla into bananas.

Using electric mixer, beat sugar and butter in large bowl until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add egg and egg yolk and beat until well blended. Add flour mixture in 3 additions alternately with banana-yogurt mixture in 2 additions, beginning and ending with flour mixture and beating just until blended after each addition. Divide batter among prepared muffin cups (generous 1/4 cup for each).

Bake cupcakes until tester inserted into center of each comes out clean, about 13 minutes for mini and 20 minutes full size. Transfer cupcakes to rack and let cool completely.

Caramel Frosting:

  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 8-ounce package cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/4 cup Recchiuti burnt caramel sauce that I had bought in San Fran (or you could make your own)
  • vanilla salt (or a nice flake salt)

Sift powdered sugar into large bowl. Add cream cheese, butter, and caramel sauce. Using electric mixer, beat mixture until smooth. Spread frosting over top of cupcakes, dividing equally. Sprinkle with a pinch of salt.

DO AHEAD: Can be made 1 day ahead. Store airtight at room temperature.

—————-

And now that Halloween has come and gone, we should make use of all those leftover pumpkin seeds. Roasting your own is super easy. Simply clean them of any stringy pumpkin debris, spread across a parchment lined baking sheet and dry the seeds in a 300 degree oven for about 30 minutes. Toss them with spices of your choice (I used smoked paprika, brown sugar, salt and olive oil) and roast for another 20 minutes till golden and crispy.

Pumpkin seeds are a good source of anti-oxidant vitamin E and oleic acid (which helps to reduce bad LDL cholesterol).

Perfect for snacking on while curled up on the couch watching back to back episodes of Mad Men (our currant dvd addiction) with kitten laying sleepily next to you.

Comments
4 Responses to “{Recipe: Light as air banana cupcakes with salted caramel frosting}”
  1. Those pumpkin seeds look so good! And salted caramel is definitely the way to go, I am glad you discovered it. I just made a batch of sea salt caramels actually. Also, you should try Purdy’s Himalayan Pink Salt Caramels. Seriously, I am going through withdrawal living out east where Purdy’s does not exist. I can’t wait for Christmas so I can stock up when I am back in Calgary! Anyways, great post!

  2. Tatiana says:

    I don’t have a big sweet tooth so those sound good to me in an abstract kind of way, but I’m in love with your sleepy kitty. He’s adorable.

Leave a Reply

