{What I’ve been up to while I’m not blogging}

Seems like my life hasn’t really slowed down since the summer like I had hoped. I’ve been busy with freelance (money for Paris!) and am in the process of moving too. It feels so good to get rid of all the excess things I don’t need. I’ve already donated five garbage bags full of clothes and stacks of books to charity. I’ve also discovered a bunch of outfits I’ve completely forgotten about, it’s like finding a new wardrobe without spending a penny 🙂

I also booked me and my mom’s flight to Paris in April this past weekend making it feel more real than ever! So exciting 🙂

So while I’ve been away.. I have been…

…cooking up these smoked porkchops marinated in five spice powder and brown sugar – the last of our delicious meats from Famous Fritz’s in Creston.

And practicing my knife skills on these veggies.

Stacked up neatly and and wrapped up for fresh salad rolls.

Date night at Without Papers Pizza in Inglewood to satisfy our pizza craving since leaving San Fran. The boy went with the Hawaiian 5-0 – Canadian back bacon, grilled pineapple, jalapenos, aged cheddar, mozzarella, tomato sauce.

I switched it up from my usual wild mushroom pizza for The Paul –  Pancetta, caramelized onion, bocconcini and arugula.

Balancing out our more indulgent nights with a nutrient packed salad from the Community Natural Foods Build-your-own-salad bar. Topped with homemade kale chips (following this recipe here) crumbled on top which I seasoned with olive oil and nutritional yeast. A made-to-order beet, carrot, apple and ginger juice and raw chocolate goji berry macaroon for dessert.

Today after the gym I grabbed a vegetarian roll from Casel Marche for a quick lunch (Made by Blowfish Sushi). So simple, but one of my favourite combos. I love the contrast of the creamy avocado with the fresh crisp batons of cucumber.

For a snack, I picked up a strip of Salmon Jerky from the market to try. After two bites I gave up..kind of reminded me of cat food..blehh..

I saved it for my kitty and he was quite pleased 🙂

I’ve packed most of my kitchen stuff, but I promise a recipe soon! Other things to come on the blog in the coming weeks:

1. The final part of my trip to San Fran and the goodies I brought back.

2. The return of Fitness Fridays as I get back into my workout routine and prep myself for training in December for my 3rd marathon in La Paris!

3. Since turning 29 in October, I’ve been working on my list of “30 things to do before I’m 30”.

4. With all the stress, sugar cravings and lack of energy in my workouts in the past couple weeks, I will be doing a three-day juice cleanse starting this Friday to reset my body and be blogging about my experience.

Stay tuned 🙂

Comments
6 Responses to “{What I’ve been up to while I’m not blogging}”
  1. I love WO Papers…will have to get there again soon. Loving the boys t-shirt too! Is it from around here? My boy would love one…

  2. at first I thought you had eaten this in one day… Figured it out as this list went on:) lots of places for me to try… Can’t believe I haven’t tried Without Papers yet!

  3. Mallory says:

    Oh no! How could you opt out of the ‘Shroom? It’s the best! Hopefully the “Paul” measured up 🙂

Leave a Reply

