{Date night at Model Milk and THE best oatmeal cookies yet}

Hello all! I was looking back in my drafts folder and came across this restaurant review that I had been meaning to put up awhile ago and totally forgot about. (I know..slacker..). So without further adieu..

For date night a few weeks ago, me and the boy decided to check out the hip and new hot spot, Model Milk on 17th Ave (in the old Victoria’s location). We arrived at about 5:30pm on a Friday to beat the rush.

The interior is a mix of historical, retro and modern. The walls are exposed brick painted in bright white accented with funky colour pendant lamps and an exposed view of the stainless steel open kitchen in the back of the space.

The menu is short and sweet and focuses on fresh and uncomplicated comfort food.

The boy started off with a Brooklyn beer (a brewery we visited a couple of years ago when we went to New York) while I went with a crisp and refreshing glass of Chardonnay

…which was enjoyed while nibbling on this generous portion of piping hot french fries topped with grated Manchego cheese and fresh chives..So simple, yet so delicious.

For our entrees, we shared two dishes. The first was their crispy fried chicken. Drizzled with thick gravy and complimented with a mound of tangy marinated red cabbage slaw and a hearty corn and macadamia nut succotash.

I have to admit, I’ve never been a fan of fried chicken, but this dish has definitely converted me. The golden brown batter was so light and crispy surrounding perfectly moist pieces of chicken.

I love the detailing on the plates. A subtle and stylish touch 🙂

The next dish was off their appetizer menu and highly recommended by our server. The classic shrimp and grits. Giant tender shrimp sit atop a creamy and rich cornmeal porridge topped with a perfectly runny egg and crispy cubes of bacon. Oh.My.Goodness. THIS is comfort food at its finest 🙂

Model Milk has exceptional attentive service alongside fantastic crave worthy food in a gorgeous space and is a very welcome addition to the Calgary food scene. We are already looking forward to our next visit 🙂

Model Milk – 308 17th Ave SW  |  Phone: 403.265.7343

——–

Before I go, I wanted to share a my best ever oatmeal cookies I’ve made to date. I was listening to the Joy the Baker podcast (my new weekly addiction) and she had mentioned that one of her most popular recipes she baked often was her oatmeal pecan chocolate chip cookies.

After day dreaming about this recipe all day at work. the moment I got home, I headed into the kitchen, put on my apron, dusted off my pale blue Kitchenaid mixer and started workin’.

I loved how thick and hearty this dough was. The oatmeal really holds everything together…And I may or may not have eaten a TON of raw cookie dough in the process..

Note to self: Freeze little balls of this dough and mix into a vanilla bean ice cream…drool…

The cookies baked up crispy on the outside, chewy and tender and filled with nuggets of goodness on the inside.

I just put in whatever I had in my pantry, so use the base recipe and sub in your favourite add-ins for your own signature cookie. This batch made SO many cookies, I only ended up baking half of the dough and freezing the other half for when another random cookie craving hits me.

Everything in the Cupboard Cookies (recipe adapted from Joy the Baker)

  • 1 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 cups uncooked oats
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

Optional add-ins (feel free to sub in your favourites or whatever you have on hand):

  • 1 cup dark chocolate covered cherries (chopped)
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/4 cup chopped almonds
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened coconut flakes

Beat the sugar and butter in the bowl of a stand mixer fit with a paddle attachment.  Beat until creamy, about 3 to 4 minutes. Add eggs one at a time, beating well between each addition.  Add the vanilla extract and beat until blended.

Whisk together the oats, flour, baking powder, baking soda, spices and salt.  Add to the butter and egg mixture slowly beating on low-speed until just incorporated.  Stir in the chocolate cherries, walnuts and coconut.

Bake at 350 degrees F for 10 to 13 minutes or until they’ve reached your desired doneness.  I like mine a little underdone and cook them for 10 minutes.  Allow to cool on the cookie sheet for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.  Or you could just eat them warm.  That’s probably the best idea.  Makes about 2 1/2 dozen cookies.

Comments
3 Responses to “{Date night at Model Milk and THE best oatmeal cookies yet}”
  1. Mallory says:

    Yum, I will have to try. I actually just posted a cranberry chocolate oatmeal cookie on my blog like 30 seconds ago! And they are definitely the best I have made to date. Plus they are healthy, only 2 tbsp. of butter but it doesn’t taste like it!

  2. I’ve been curious about Model Milk since it opened. It’s great to read a review before going down and now I also know which dish I’ll be ordering:)

Leave a Reply

