{Product Review: Lesley Stowe’s Raincoast Cookies}


A couple of weeks ago, I was sent a package of these new all-natural, gourmet Raincoast Cookies by Lesley Stowe Fine Foods to try out. I am a big fan of her deliciously addictive Raincoast Crisps already (LOVE the rosemary raisin pecan flavour) so I was eager to try their newest addition to their product line.

The cookies are baked in small batches to ensure quality and each one contains healthy goodness like whole grains, high fibre chicory root, flax seed and protein-rich chia. They are each individually wrapped making it the perfect snack to grab on the go out the door. I have been enjoying these as a late afternoon snack at work before my evening workouts the past week.

They are available in three different flavours:

Apricot, Ginger and Slivered Almond – Studded with chunks of sweet dried apricot, spicy candied ginger for a kick and toasted almonds for a nice crunch.

Dried Cranberry and Toasted HazelnutAromatic chunks of toasted hazelnuts and cranberries for a tart and sweet combo.

And lastly my favourite of the bunch (probably cause it seemed the most decadent). The Dark Chocolate, Tart Cherry and Pecanchunks of 70% dark chocolate married with the berries and nuts made it the perfectly balanced combo.

I really enjoyed all three flavours. Each cookie is jam-packed with delicious tidbits all mixed in a chewy oat base = YUM! The cookies are slighty soft and really hearty. I liked that they weren’t overly sweet like a regular cookie, so I didn’t get that typical sugar crash/I-feel-guilty-I-ate-this kind of feeling after eating it. The best part is that it doesn’t taste like a healthy snack, I felt like I was indulging and one cookie pre-workout kept me full till dinner time (which for me is around 8 or 9pm).

In terms of calories, they come in about the same as a lot of the protein/meal replacement bars out there (about 300 cal). They are high in fibre and protein and I would much rather eat one of these than a chalky artificial tasting protein bar or a sugary Starbucks cookie any day.

These are available at Sunterra Market if you are local and throughout BC, Alberta and Ontario at the moment. Or you can check out their website for more info.

I rate these 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

