{Savoury Recipe: Smoky Chipotle Bacon Jam Appetizers}

Hello everyone, hope you all had a wonderful holiday!

Now that Christmas is over, I thought I’d share a savoury recipe idea for New Years Eve or your next get together that involves one of my favourite recipes of 2011, my homemade chipotle bacon jam.

I posted this recipe a while back and it has become a must-have staple in my fridge ever since. Here are a few ways I’ve been incorporating this savoury condiment:

  • a spoonful in my morning steel cut oats with some grated grana padano and black pepper
  • an extra kick of flavour in soups, stews or chili
  • as a spread on burgers or sandwiches
  • stirred into an aioli or creamy dip served with crostini or veggies
  • with my morning eggs

They also make a great base for appetizers..here are a few yummy ideas:

1. Served on slices of sourdough baguette with arugula, mediterranean goat cheese dip and topped off with a halved cherry tomato.

It’s a party in your mouth I tell ya..

2. Wrapped and baked in crisp and flaky puff pastry to create pinwheels

You can make your own puff pastry if you have the time. I always keep a box or two of my favourite brand in my freezer for appie/dessert emergencies.

I made another variation for a Boxing Day gathering that incorporated it with extra creamy Danish blue cheese, goat cheese, gala apple and a handful of dried cranberries.

Drop a few spoonfuls of bacon jam onto of the mixture, roll it up, bake and voila. Instant fancy appie 🙂

Savoury, smoky, sweet, creamy and tangy. A wonderful balance of flavours in one bite size piece. I am normally NOT a fan of blue cheese at all, but I could easily eat a tray of these. Pears would be a lovely substitute for the apples.

Addictive Bacon Jam Pinwheels

  • 2 sheets of puff pastry (I used store bought)
  • 1/2 cup crumbled blue cheese
  • 1/4 cup of goat cheese
  • 1 medium sized apple, diced
  • 1/4 cup of dried cranberries
  • 1/4 cup of chipotle bacon jam (recipe here)
  • salt and pepper
Defrost the puff pastry according to the directions on the box (I let mine sit in its wrapping on the counter for about an hour). Mix together the cheeses in a bowl till combined and crumbly. Unroll the puff pastry sheet and spread the cheese, apple, cranberries and bacon jam evenly over the surface. Start rolling from one end until it forms a log (like a cinnamon roll – or roll both ends in to make palmiers). Cut into 1/2 inch slices and lay on a parchment lined baking sheet, two inches apart. Chill in the fridge for about 20 minutes. Bake at 375F for about 15-18 minutes till golden on the edges. Place on a paper towel lined cooling rack and let them cool. You can also just use the bacon jam alone like my first variation. 
————
Bacon jam also makes a great hostess gift too, men and women alike will be swooning. Put it in a cute glass jar (this one is from Crate and Barrel), tie it with a ceramic spoon with some Bakers twine and a cute tag (from Anthropologie by Rifle Paper Co.)
I’ll end this post with an iphone pic of my kitty resting his head on the stair in my living room (his favourite hangout in the house). I thought this photo was hilarious cause he looked like a floating head…

Comments
One Response to “{Savoury Recipe: Smoky Chipotle Bacon Jam Appetizers}”
  1. The truth of it is that balanced cooking techniques need to satisfy just THREE basic and simple standards the food you eat should not have excessive amount of fat and salt i.e. should not be full of calories, it should retain its nutrients i.e. it should not be empty calories and above all, it should taste good.
    Great Read, Terrific to find another Food lover

Leave a Reply

