{Beauty faves and a “Better for You” Cranberry Almond Streusel Coffee Cake}

Today I thought I’d change it up and talk about my favourite beauty products I’m lovin’ lately. Sorry dudes…this one is kinda aimed at the ladies.. If you’re looking for the recipe, feel free to scroll down.

I am a makeup/skincare fanatic. Don’t even ask me how much I spend at Sephora..Let’s just say I rack up A LOT of beauty points for new samples. I’ve tried my fair share of lip glosses, foundations, face scrubs, etc.. So I thought I’d do a round up of what I’ve been into lately for my makeup routine.

1. Clarisonic Mia Sonic Skin Cleansing System – I have problematic complexion and this has made a big difference in the texture of my skin. Increases the effectiveness of your favourite cleanser. A bit pricey, but worth the investment.

2. Laura Mercier Oil Free Tinted Moisturizer – A lightweight moisturizer that provides moderate coverage for sensitive/acne prone skin. As a bonus it has SPF 20. Perfect for my low maintenance routine after the gym, a great time saver since its a 2 in 1 product.

3. Benefit Ooh La Lift  – An under eye cream with light reflecting pigments and raspberry extract that brightens the under eye. Good for those dark circles I get working late nights on freelance.

4. Benefit BADGal Lash Mascara – Great separation, adds volume without creating that creepy spider eye look.

5. Laura Mercier Eye Basics in Wheat – Creamy, semi matte eye colour that is waterproof and crease proof. I use this as a base underneath my eyeshadow for better staying power.

6. Fresh Sugar Rose Tinted Lip Treatment SPF 15 – My FAVOURITE lip balm ever. A hint of colour and doesn’t dry out your lips and smells lovely without being overpowering. Protects my lips even in the driest winter temperatures of Calgary.

7. Bare Escentuals Essential Brow Powder – I find eyebrow pencils too harsh on my face, this looks natural and is easy to use.

8. Fresh Sugar Lip Gloss in Sugar Flirt or Sugar Rush – High shine, not sticky, sheer colour and light sweet scent.

9. Forever 21 Nail Colours – Cheap, fun colours and good staying power.

10. Laura Mercier Flawless Skin Face Polish – I got this in my luxury sample kit and am in LOVE with this. A very effective face scrub filled with tiny microbeads to help exfoliate dead skin cells leaving the skin soft and smooth. A little goes a long way.

11. Clinique Blushwear Cream Stick – A cream to powder blush that is portable, quick and easy to apply and blend with your fingertips.

12. MAC eyeshadow in Trax – My fave eyeshadow colour, a shimmery burgundy-plum colour that is perfect for everyday.

13. BLAX Snag-Free Hair Elastics – Awesome for the gym cause they just slide out of my hair with no trouble, even after a long sweaty workout.

So yea..that’s what I’m into. But enough about girly makeup stuff…onto the recipe…

Earlier this week I baked up this airy, light, not-too-sweet and oh-so-satisfying cranberry almond streusel coffee cake.  Warm and crusty on the outside and so lovely and fresh out of the oven.

I call it an anytime coffee cake. It’s perfect for breakfast and won’t make you feel icky and sluggish for the rest of the day, enjoyable alongside your afternoon coffee or tea or great for nibbling while getting immersed in your favourite book under a cozy blanket on your couch.

Most cake loaf recipes use about 1 cup of oil/butter, but this one has only a quarter of that! The secret ingredient that makes this loaf moist and tender…Greek yogurt 🙂 The ground up almonds and yogurt add protein which gives this loaf some staying power. A thin slice is a great pre-workout snack. It would probably be pretty awesome toasted in a pan and made into French Toast too..Mmm..

To make it extra special, I sprinkled a simple spiced streusel with the addition of graham crumbs for a nice crunchy texture contrast.

The recipe is simple and the ingredients can be measured out using a 125ml or 4oz yogurt container. It is based off a Gateau au Yaourt, a staple in French baking.

I like to slice up the cake and wrap them into individual servings and stack them up in a freezer bag so I can enjoy whenever I like. Just defrost the night before on the counter and you are ready to go.

Feel free to sub in any fruit you like. I had leftover cranberries from the holidays that I needed to use up. But raspberries + lemon zest, blueberries + orange zest, apples + walnuts, pears + vanilla bean or peaches + ginger would all be wonderful combinations. Bon appetit!

Cranberry Almond Streusel Coffee Cake with Greek Yogurt (adapted from Chocolate and Zucchini)

  • 2 tubs of plain yogurt (one tub is 125 ml, which amounts to 4 oz, or half a cup)

Use one of the empty tubs to measure out :

  • 1.5 tubs of brown sugar
  • 1/2 tub of oil 
  • 3 tubs of sifted flour
  • 1/2 tub ground almonds (I ground up raw almonds in a food processor)

You will also need :

  • 3 eggs
  • 1 Tbsp (one packet) baking powder
  • a good pinch of salt
  • 1.25 cups cranberries (fresh or frozen — no need to thaw them if they’re frozen)
Streusel:
  • 1/4 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup of graham crumbs

Preheat the oven to 360°F. Copiously grease and flour a 9-inch (22 cm) round cake pan or a large loaf pan.

Streusel: In a bowl, whisk sugars, spices and salt into melted butter until smooth. Then, add flour and graham crumbs with a spatula or wooden spoon. It will look and feel like a solid dough. Leave it pressed together in the bottom of the bowl and set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, combine the yogurt, the oil and the sugar with a wooden spoon. Add the eggs, one at a time, stirring after each addition. In a medium bowl combine the flour, the baking powder, the salt, and the almonds. Add the flour mixture to the batter in three or four additions, and stir until just combined. Do not overmix.

Fold in the cranberries then pour into a parchment lined cake or loaf pan. Break up the streusel into medium sized crumbs and sprinkle evenly across the top of the batter.

Put into the oven to bake, for 50 to 55 minutes, until a wooden skewer inserted into the middle comes out clean. Let rest on the counter for ten minutes — I repeat : let rest on the counter for ten minutes — then run a knife around the cake to loosen it, and turn out on a rack to cool completely.

Comments
2 Responses to “{Beauty faves and a “Better for You” Cranberry Almond Streusel Coffee Cake}”
  1. Nicole says:

    Thank you for posting this recipe! I’ve been looking for a fairly simple, healthy coffee cake!
    And I am planning on making your profiteroles with coconut milk pastry cream this week! I’m so excited I found your blog!

Leave a Reply

